People

staff-member-with-fyrefly.jpeg
unnamed.jpg

Executive Director 

Dr. Glynnis Lieb

Dr. Glynnis Lieb holds a PhD in Personality and Social Psychology. She has worked both for government and not-for-profit social services organizations. She is also a post-secondary instructor and has held sessional positions in five institutions in Manitoba and Alberta over the past 14 years.

Glynnis believes strongly in community involvement and social activism. She sits on a number of boards for entities that are health or social justice focused. She has been a union activist for much of her adult life.

Glynnis also volunteers for a number of community organizations. Through this volunteerism, she is an active supporter of local arts, poverty reduction initiatives, mental health and addiction education and support, 2SLGBTQ+ community members, offender rehabilitation programs, supports for people with disabilities, and anti-discrimination initiatives.

Finally, Glynnis is very politically involved. She has volunteered for numerous campaigns at municipal, provincial and federal levels of government. Her labour involvement has included significant lobbying activities and she worked for the Alberta Federation of Labour before joining the Fyrefly Institute in 2018.


Fyrefly Institute Staff Members 

Manager of Programs and Services
Aman Powar-Grewal (She/Her) 
apowar@ualberta.ca
780-492-2856
Program Assistant

Kelli Luber (She/Her) 
kelli.luber@ualberta.ca

Communications and Events Coordinator
Yasmine Abdel Razek (She/Her) 
yabdelra@ualberta.ca

Fyrefly in Schools/ Professional Development

Fyrefly in Schools Education Coordinator (Primary contact)
Evan Westfal ( He/Him) 
ewestfal@ualberta.ca

780-492-4909
Fyrefly in Schools Rural Coordinator

Alex Marshall (She/Her) 
ruralout@ualberta.ca

 


CHEW Project YEG

CHEW Project Coordinator

Corey Wyness ( He/Him) 
cwyness@ualberta.ca

Crisis Intervention and Community Support Worker

Rachel Lingnau (she/they)
rlingnau@ualberta.ca 

Food Security and Harm Reduction Specialist

Vee Duncan 
vee@nekem.org 




Where the Rivers Meet

Where the Rivers Meet Coordinator
Rae Madge (she/her)
ermadge@ualberta.ca

Camp fYrefly 

Camp fYrefly National Coordinator

Corey Bighorn (He/Him) 
bighorn@ualberta.ca


Support the Fyrefly Institute

The Fyrefly Institute for Gender and Sexual Diversity has a number of programs and services that provide support the well being of 2SLGBTQ+ youth in Edmonton and surrounding area. You can support our work by volunteering or making a charitable donation.

All donations are eligible for a charitable tax deduction receipt from the University of Alberta. 

Volunteer   Donate Now 

For more information or general inquiries, please contact:

Fyrefly Institute for Gender and Sexual Diversity
Email: fyrefly@ualberta.ca 
Tel: 780.492.0772

Instagram
Twitter
Facebook