October 2019 Faculty Awards and Accolades Recap

Congratulations to the Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation alumni, faculty, staff and students being recognized this month!

Nicole Graham - 31 October 2019

Faculty Recognition

Valerie Carson: Inaugural Killam Accelerator Research Award. Valerie received the one of two inaugural Killam Accelerator Research Awards at the 2019 University of Alberta Killam Awards Luncheon.

Kerry Mummery: The President's Award of Distinction at the 2019 ARPA Conference. The President's Award of Distinction is an award that the ARPA Board of Directors give out to celebrate and recognize an individual or organization that has made significant impacts on the recreation and parks sector in Alberta but have not been identified or recognized through our other award channels. The ARPA Board recognized the work Kerry has done over the past decade as Dean to strengthen the recreation sector through such things as the Connecting through Research stream, the links and partnership on the Indigenous Sport and Recreation Graduate Scholarship and the general support for recreation within the Faculty.

John Spence: Carron Lecture, The Canadian Society for Psychomotor Learning and Sport Psychology (SCAPPS) 2019 Conference. Lecture topic: To Sit is Human, to Move is FUN

Staff Recognition

Jess Dunkin (Adjunct Professor): Jess' first book, Canoe and Canvas: Life at the Encampments of the American Canoe Association, 1880−1910, was just published by the University of Toronto Press.

Student Recognition

Yeaseul Cho
(PhD student): 2019 Korean Canadian Scholarship Foundation of Edmonton (KCSFE) scholarship. KCSFE provides scholarship to foster the education and the growth of future leaders of Alberta communities.

Breanne Collison (BScKin): U of A Show & Tell: A Celebration of Student Research. Undergraduate and graduate students from across the University of Alberta presented posters on their research in an event open to all members of the university and the general public. The event aims to encourage stimulating discussion across disciplines with prizes for best presentations. Breanne placed second of 53 students competing in the undergraduate category. Research topic: "Cardiovascular consequences of a high-fat meal."

Heather Hinz (MSc student): Honourable Mention, Alberta Diabetes Institute Research Day 2019, Oral Presentation. Presentation title: "The Association of Exercise Blood Glucose on Post Exercise Hypoglycemia in Type 1 Diabetes."

An Nguyen (MA student): Ewen Nelson Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Adapted Physical Activity.

Rebecca Rubiliak (MA student): AABRD Graduate Scholarship. The AABRD Scholarships recognize academic achievements, contributions to, and endeavors in advancing the field of recreation for people with disabilities.

Robert Vranich (PhD student): Graduate Paper Award Honourable Mention at the 2019 Northern Great Plains History Conference. Research topic: "Structures of Invasion: Settler Colonialism and Canada's Earliest National Parks, 1885-1930."

Athletics Recognition

Amanda Rummery (Steadward Bears Athlete): Amanda has been selected to represent Canada at the 2019 World Para Athletics Championships. The meet will take place in Dubai, United Arab Emirates from November 7-15, 2019, where Amanda will be participating in the 400m.

Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation Academic All-Canadians: A record number of University of Alberta student-athletes were honoured at the Golden Bears and Pandas Academic All-Canadian breakfast. A total of 170 athletes (162 from U SPORTS sanctioned sports, and another eight tennis athletes) were celebrated for maintaining an average of 80% or higher over the course of the 2018/2019 academic year, while competing full-time for one of the university's varsity teams. Thirteen U of A faculties are represented in the AAC total from 2018/19, led by 42 student-athletes from KSR

Canada West and U SPORTS record-setting sprinter Austin Cole (BKin) earned the Mark Goodkey Trophy, while U SPORTS Women's Hockey Player of the Year Alex Poznikoff (BARST) was the winner of the Kathlene Yetman Trophy.

Congratulations to all 42 KSR student-athletes!

  • Sydney Dawes, Rugby
  • Heidi Farley, Rugby
  • Courtney Holtkamp, Rugby
  • Sawyer Lange, Hockey
  • Zach Woodman, Football
  • Spencer Allen, Track and Field
  • Hayley Basterash, Cross Country
  • Haley Berrisford, Swimming
  • Alexandre Bouferguene, Track and Field
  • Rodeem Brown, Football
  • Emily Cliff, Track and Field
  • Austin Cole, Track and Field
  • Courtney Hebert, Track and Field
  • Rachel Hyink, Track and Field
  • Dryden Kalesnikoff, Football
  • Christopher Lem, Track and Field
  • Josh Li, Track and Field
  • Benjamin Mickelsen, Track and Field
  • Rachel Rosin, Track and Field
  • Kaitlin Swartz, Cross Country & Track and Field
  • Kier Vander Leek, Swimming
  • Brandon Wladyko, Cross Country
  • Zack Perala, Tennis
  • Kyle Sluchinski, Tennis
  • Jun Tham, Tennis
  • Anna Dunn, Soccer
  • Cayle Dillon, Hockey
  • Abby Krzyzaniak, Hockey
  • Makenna Ledgister, Basketball
  • Brooklyn Legault, Basketball
  • Morgan Mudge, Basketball
  • Krystin Paquette, Wrestling
  • Alexandra Poznikoff, Hockey
  • Jaslin Sawatzky, Hockey
  • Kelsey Tangjerd, Hockey
  • Lindsay Weech, Hockey
  • Regan Wright, Hockey
  • Elyse Hart, Volleyball
  • Alexander McMullin, Volleyball
  • Morgan Corbett, Soccer
  • Brooke Lang, Soccer
  • Brenna Mattiello, Soccer

Alumni Recognition

Clare Drake (Professor Emeritus): Inducted into the Canada West Hall of Fame (Coach Category: Men's Hockey). The legendary coach is synonymous with hockey at the University of Alberta, where he led the Golden Bears to six Canadian titles and 17 western conference championships over a 28-year head coaching career that spanned 1,030 games.

Pandas Hockey Dynasty (2001 - 2007 Team): Inducted into the Canada West Hall of Fame (Team Category: Women's Hockey). Not only did the Pandas win six consecutive Canada West titles from 2001-02 to 2006-07, but they went on capture the CIS Championship in all but one of those seasons. Led by coach Howie Draper, the Pandas teams were literally unbeatable for years.