January 2020 Faculty Awards and Accolades

Congratulations to the Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation alumni, faculty, staff and students on your achievements for January 2020!

31 January 2020

Faculty Recognition

Margie Davenport: CIHR Institute of Human Development, Child and Youth Health (IHDCYH) Talks video prize - special commendation. The IHDCYH Talks competition is a unique opportunity to submit a short video (<5 minutes) with an evidence-based message in the area of maternal, reproductive, child and youth health. WATCH VIDEO

Shintaro Kono: Interdepartmental Science Students' Society Excellence in Teaching Award. Students in the Fall 2019 RLS 100 (Life, Leisure, and the Pursuit of Happiness) nominated Dr. Shintaro for this award, which recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching. Quote from one student's nomination letter:

"Dr. Kono is one of the best instructors I have ever had. He really went above and beyond to support his students. The class material and lectures were easy to understand, and he always made himself available before and after class, for one-on-one appointments, or by email for any questions. Dr. Kono worked to engage his students in class discussions, encouraging everyone to think critically about the concepts and theories presented in the course. His cheerful attitude, personal stories from his own life, and playful energy made lectures fun. He put in significant effort to learn and remember students' names and chatted casually with students if no one had questions before class."

Undergraduate Awards and Scholarship Committee: The committee, comprising Joanna Auger, Angela Bayduza, Michael Chizewski, John Dunn, David Goertzen and Craig Steinback, have successfully administered 100 per cent of faculty-funded undergraduate awards and scholarships for the academic year 2019/2020. A special shout out goes to David Goertzen for working to diligently with Student Financial Support in getting all KSR-funded undergraduate awards and scholarships administered

Student Recognition

Shannon Pynn (PhD Student): Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts Champion. Shannon is the mental skills coach for Team Walker, who won the Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts on January 26th. Shannon will join Team Walker in Moose Jaw from February 14th to 23rd at the 2020 Scotties Tournament of Hearts as the Team Alberta representatives. READ MORE

Staff Recognition

Michael Cook (Head Coach, Sport Conditioning, Green & Gold Sport System): Michael will be joining the Canadian Men's Volleyball Team at the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo this July as the team's Head Coach, Strength and Conditioning. Team Canada secured their ticket to Tokyo on January 12th with a 3-0 win over Puerto Rico. READ MORE

Howie Draper (Pandas Hockey Head Coach): Howie becomes the first women's hockey coach in U SPORTS era to win 600 games. Draper has coached the Pandas since their inception in 1997, and is just the fourth coach in University of Alberta history to reach the 600-win plateau (Laurie Eisler, Terry Danyluk, Clare Drake). He is the second women's hockey coach to reach the 600-win plateau, but the only one to do so since women's hockey became a U SPORTS sanctioned sport in 1997. READ MORE

Athletics Recognition

Cassie Jorgenson (Pandas Rugby): Cassie represented Canada on the Women's Under-18 squad at the 2019 Can-Am Rugby Tour in Chula Vista, California in December. Team Canada orchestrated a come-from-behind win over Team USA to take home the championship title.

Matthew Amyotte, Josh Nordstrom, Joel Nordstrom and Jan Lourens (Rugby Athlete Academy athletes): Matthew, Josh, Joel and Jan represented Canada on the Men's Under-18 squad at the 2019 Can-Am Rugby Tour in Chula Vista, California in December. The two Team Canada squads split with Team USA to round off the Rugby Canada 2019 Tour season.


Taylor McDonald (Pandas Curling): Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts Champion. Taylor and her teammates on Team Walker took home the Alberta Scotties Tournament of Hearts title on January 26th. Taylor, who is the team's Second, and her teammates will represent Alberta at the 2020 Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Moose Jaw on February 14th to 23rd. READ MORE

Canada West Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Ali Bernard (Student-Athlete category: Wrestling, 2005-2008, 2010). Ali Bernard is a unique member of the inaugural Canada West Hall of Fame class, being inducted as a student-athlete of two schools - Regina and Alberta. She is also the Hall of Fame's first inductee that competed at the Olympics for a country other than Canada, having represented the United States at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Games.
  • Don Horwood (Coach category: Basketball, 1978-79, 1983-2009). Under the direction of Don Horwood from 1983 to 2009, the University of Alberta men's basketball team emerged as a national powerhouse, winning three national titles (1994, 1995, 2002). The Golden Bears made 11 trips to the national championship tournament with Horwood at the helm, reaching the final five times, including three consecutive years from 1994 to 1996. Horwood also guided Alberta to seven Canada West titles (1985, 1990, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2005, 2012).
  • Tarin Podloski (Student-Athlete category: Hockey, 2004-2010). Tarin Podloski established herself as one of the all-time greats in Canada West during her five seasons as a student-athlete at the University of Alberta. Playing for the Pandas from 2004-05 to 2006-07 and then from 2008-09 to 2009-10, Podloski earned both Canada West First-Team All-Star and All-Canadian honours in each of her final four seasons. In her first year she was named the Canada West Rookie of the Year and selected to the CIS All-Rookie Team.
  • Stacey Wakabayashi (Student-Athlete category: Hockey, 1984-1989). Over his five years as a student-athlete at the University of Alberta, Stacey Wakabayashi dominated Canada West men's hockey as few ever have. Wakabayashi played forward for the Golden Bears from 1984-85 to 1988-89, racking up 107 goals, 143 assists and 250 points to finish his career as the conference's career leader in all three categories. Three decades later, he is still the top point-scorer in Canada West history, while remaining first all-time in Alberta men's hockey history for goals and assists.