American Physical Society Fellows

 Fellowship in the American Physical Society is attained by election. It represents peer recognition of recipients' outstanding contributions to physics. Fellowships are held by only one-half of one percent of the membership.

  • 2016: Bruce Sutherland, Fluid Dynamics
  • 2015: Mark Freeman, Condensed Matter Physics
  • 2013: Robert Wolkow, Condensed Matter Physics
  • 2011: John Beamish, Condensed Matter Physics
  • 2007: Massimo Boninsegni, Computational Physics
  • 2005: Aksel Hallin, Nuclear Physics
  • 2000: Wojciech Rozmus, Forum on International Physics
  • 1995: Eric H. Pinnington, Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
  • 1983: Faqir C. Khanna, Faqir, Nuclear Physics
  • 1966: Avadh B. Bhatia
  • 1928: Robert J. Lang


Canada Council for the Arts, Killam Prize in Natural Sciences

The Canada Council for the Arts Killlam Prize Program recognizes the career achievements of eminent Canadian scholars and scientists actively engaged in research, whether in industry, government agencies or universities.

  • 2018: James Pinfold


Royal Society of Canada

Election to the academies of the Royal Society of Canada is the highest honour a scholar can achieve in the Arts, Humanities and Sciences in Canada.
  • 2013: Ray Egerton
  • 2013: James Pinfold
  • 2012: Don Page
  • 2005: Michael Evans
  • 2000: Robert Wolkow
  • 1990: Nathaniel Rutter
  • 1995: Gordon Rostocker
  • 1988: Yasushi Takahaski
  • 1972: Werner Israel


Sloan Research Fellows

The Sloan Research Fellowship program seeks to recognize the achievements of outstanding young scholars in science, mathematics, economics and computer science. Past recipients of Sloan Research Fellowships have gone on to win 38 Nobel prizes, 14 Fields Medals (mathematics), and eight John Bates Clark awards (economics).
  • 2013: John Davis


Steacie Awards (E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships)

Up to six Steacie Fellowships are awarded annually to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising scientists and engineers who are faculty members of Canadian universities.
  • 2017: Darren Grant, Particle Physics
  • 2006: Andrzej Czarnecki, Subatomic Physics
  • 1999: Mark Freeman, Condensed Matter Physics
  • 1966: Mohsen Razavy, Theoretical Nuclear Physics


Student Award Recipients