University of Alberta Awards

The University of Alberta promotes teaching excellence, scholarship and innovation by administering awards and funding. 

We welcome applications from all qualified persons. We encourage women; First Nations, Métis and Inuit persons; members of visible minority groups; persons with disabilities; persons of any sexual orientation or gender identity and expression; and all those who may contribute to the further diversification of ideas and the University to apply.

Awards For Faculty Excellence
  • Henry Marshall Tory Chair
  • McCalla Professorship
  • University Cup
  • University of Alberta Distinguished Professor
  • Vargo Teaching Chair

Awards For Teaching Excellence
  • Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
  • Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Teaching Unit Award
  • William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

External Teaching Awards
  • 3M National Teaching Fellowships (STLHE)
  • Alan Blizzard Award (STLHE)
  • D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning (STLHE)
  • Distinguished Academic Award (CAUT)

Other Awards and Funding

For a complete list of academic awards and recipients visit Use the search tool or navigate to the award you are interested in. For discipline specific awards select the appropriate field of study and determine which award(s) are applicable.