Faculty and Instructors

Anthropology staff

Professors • InstructorsAdjunctEmeriti

André Costopoulos
Professor and Dean of Students
costopou@ualberta.ca
Evolution of social complexity; human adaptation to environmental change;, quantitative and computational methods in archeology; agent-based simulation in anthropology, and prehistoric exchange networks
Jean DeBernardi
Professor
jean.debernardi@ualberta.ca
Social/cultural anthropology; Anthropology of modernity; Chinese religious culture; Chinese diaspora communities in Singapore and Malaysia; historical anthropology

Associate Professor
sandra.garvie-lok@ualberta.ca

Reconstruction of past human diets and mobility using stable isotope analysis; palaeopathology; weaning and juvenile nutrition in the past; Greece; Eastern Mediterranean
Lesley Harrington
Associate Professor
l.harrington@ualberta.ca
Physical/biological anthropology, bioarchaeology, dental anthropology, growth & development; hunter-gatherers; southern Africa
Joseph Hill
Associate Professor
jbhill@ualberta.ca
Religion, Islam and mysticism, language and performance, gender, global and translocal movements, West and North Africa, Middle East
John (Jack) Ives
jives@ualberta.ca
Archaeological theory; public and prehistoric archaeology; Athapaskan and Algonquian social and economic organization; Apachean origins; Jin Dynasty; Northern Plains; Subarctic; northeast Asia
Robert Losey
Professor
robert.losey@ualberta.ca
Zooarchaeology, aquatic adaptations, mortuary archaeology, hunter-gatherers; Northwest Coast of North America, Eastern Siberia
Kathleen Lowrey
Associate Professor and Associate Chair (Undergraduate Program)
kathleen.lowrey@ualberta.ca
Lowland South American anthropology, South American ethnohistory, comparative ethnohistory of South and North America, economic anthropology, disability studies, feminism, and the relationship of historical and contemporary evolutionary theory to anthropology
Pamela Mayne Correia
Faculty Service Officer
pmaynecorreia@ualberta.ca
Applied forensic anthropology; trauma, cremated human remains; human identification problems, bone curatorial issues. Current research: bone diagenesis, including fungal, heat and traumatic damage.
Brooke Milne
Professor and Dean, FGSR
bmilne@ualberta.ca
Mark Nuttall
Professor and Henry Marshall Tory Chair
mark.nuttall@ualberta.ca
Anthropology of the Arctic and North Atlantic; human-environment relations; sustainability of living marine resources; climate change; locality, identity and memory; Greenland; Alaska; Canada; Scotland; Scandinavia
Andie Palmer
Associate Professor
andie.palmer@ualberta.ca
Cultural and linguistic anthropology; discourse analysis; narratives of place; oral history; Aboriginal rights and title in the courts; Interior and Coast Salish; Northwest Coast; Maori and Pakeha relations, Aotearoa New Zealand
Kisha Supernant
Associate Professor and Director Institute of Prairie and Indigenous Archaeology
kisha.supernant@ualberta.ca
Archaeological mapping, Northwest Coast archaeology, indigenous archaeology, landscape archaeology
Helen Vallianatos
Associate Professor
vallianatos@ualberta.ca
Anthropology of food, gender, body, health, mobilities and immigration, South Asian and Southwest Asian diasporic communities in Canada, anthropology of the senses
Andrzej Weber
Professor
andrzej.weber@ualberta.ca
Northeast Asia (Baikal, Hokkaido), Holocene hunter-gatherers, hunter-gatherer method and theory, archaeological science, subsistence and diet, mobility patterns, mortuary ritual, and social complexity
Pamela Willoughby
Professor and Chair
pam.willoughby@ualberta.ca
Palaeolithic archaeology; Palaeoanthropology; origin and dispersal of modern humans; African Stone Age prehistory; Lithic analysis; Archaeological method and theory
Marko Zivkovic
Associate Professor and Associate Chair
(Graduate Program)
zivkovic@ualberta.ca
Social/cultural anthropology; politics; post-socialism; expressive culture; art; East-Central Europe; Mediterranean; Japan

 

Contract Instructors

top

Christine Kennedy
kennedy3@ualberta.ca
Kate Kingsbury
kingsbur@ualberta.ca
Francois Larose
francois.larose@ualberta.ca
Elizabeth Sawchuk
esawchuk@ualberta.ca
Joseph (Jeff) Werner
jwerner@ualberta.ca
Mirjana Uzelac
muzelac@ualberta.ca

Kaitlin Young
ksyoung@ualberta.ca

Andrew Lints
lints@ualberta.ca

Adjunct Professors

top

Alwynne Beaudoin
Alwynne.Beaudoin@gov.ab.ca
Curator, Quaternary Environments
Royal Alberta Museum
Ave Dersch
dersch@ualberta.ca
Kate Kingsbury
kingsbur@ualberta.ca
Social and cultural anthropology, religion, alterity, gender, youth, performance, West Africa, Mouridiyya, politics, modernity and globalisation, ontological anthropology, symbolic anthropology, existential anthropology, material culture, post-modernism
Sara Komarnisky
sarak@ualberta.ca

Research Manager, Hotıì ts'eeda: NWT SPOR Support Unit, Tłı̨chǫ Government, Yellowknife, NT;

Social and cultural anthropology of North America: Colonialism, Globalization, Health, Material culture, Migration, Mobility, Transnationalism, Ethnography, Qualitative methods

Leslie Main Johnson
lgottesf@ualberta.ca

Karyne Rabey
rabey@ualberta.ca
Division of Anatomy, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicince and Dentistry
Heather Young-Leslie
heather.youngleslie@ualberta.ca
Director, Social Sciences/Humanities Grant Assist Program, Office of the Vice-President Research & Innovation Liaison, Research Impact Canada; Member, Anthropologica Open Access Working Group. Medical anthropology, feminist anthropology, development studies, knowledge mobilization, Oceania.

Professors Emeriti

top

Michael I Asch
masch@uvic.ca
Social structure, ethnomusicology, political anthropology; hunting-trapping economics; Subarctic
Owen Beattie Physical anthropology; forensic anthropology; human osteology; North America
Gregory Forth
gforth@ualberta.ca
Religion; kinship, marriage and sexuality; ethnobiological classification; folk zoology; oral narrative and rumour; Southeast Asia
Milton MR Freeman
milton.freeman7@gmail.com
Ecology, traditional resources management, applied anthropology; Arctic, North Pacific

Ruth Gruhn
rgruhn@ualberta.ca

Prehistoric archaeology, ethnology, language prehistory; Middle and South America

Clifford G Hickey
cliffhickey@shaw.ca

Ethnohistory, economics, subsistence economies in the modern world, culture change, development, sustainable forest management and aboriginal communities; circumpolar
Raymond Le Blanc
ray.leblanc@ualberta.ca
Prehistoric archaeology; lithic and bone technology; Alberta archaeology; arctic; subarctic; North America
Nancy Lovell
nlovell@ualberta.ca
Evidence of trauma and disease to determine diet and biological relationships in human skeletal remains from archaeological sites (esp. Egypt); trauma and disease in non-human primate skeletons; ethnohistorical study of cemeteries in western Canada; mortuary archaeology
David Lubell
dlubell@uwaterloo.ca
Prehistoric archeology and cultural ecology, transition to food production; Circummediterranean, southern Europe, northern Africa
Lisa Philips
lphilips@ualberta.ca
Discourse and society; First Nations and state relations; borderlands, migration and identity; ethnohistory; language and politics; hegemonic processes; folklore
Charles Schweger
charlesschweger@mac.com
Paleoecology; geoarchaeology; quaternary biology; palynology; climate-cultural change; Alaska; Yukon; western North America; Scandinavia; Greenland
Carl Urion
carl.urion@ualberta.ca
Anthropological linguistics, anthropology and education; North America, Belize
David E Young
deyoung2@hotmail.com
Psychological and cognitive anthropology, anthropology of religion, medical anthropology, anthropological aesthetics, material culture; East Asia