Convocation Speakers

Stephanie Green

Dr. Stephanie Green

Stephanie Green is an Associate Professor in Biological Sciences and the Canada Research Chair in Aquatic Global Change Ecology and Conservation. Dr. Green leads the CHANGE Lab at UAlberta, which investigates the causes and consequences of biodiversity change in ocean ecosystems in collaboration with governments, non-profit organizations, and coastal communities in Canada and internationally. Her team uses methods including underwater experiments and ecosystems models to uncover how pressure like climate change, biological invasion, harvesting, and habitat loss alter species distribution and abundance.

Dr. Green was named among Edmonton’s Top 40 Under 40 in 2021. Her contributions to marine science and conservation have recently been recognized through international awards including the Earth Leadership Fellowship for her research on coral reef restoration techniques and Sloan Research Fellowship in Ocean Sciences for work on sustaining fisheries under climate change. Prior to joining the University of Alberta in 2018, Dr. Green was a Banting Fellow at the Center for Ocean Solutions at Stanford University and a David H. Smith Conservation Research Fellow at Oregon State University.

Janet A. W. Elliott Dice

Dr. Janet A. W. Elliott

Dr. Janet A. W. Elliott is a University of Alberta Distinguished Professor and Canada Research Chair in Thermodynamics in the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering. Dr. Elliott was the first female graduate of the Engineering Physics Option of Engineering Science at the University of Toronto and received MASc and PhD degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Toronto. Dr. Elliott has been a Visiting Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and at the University of Oxford Centre for Collaborative Applied Mathematics.

Dr. Elliott currently serves as Editor-in-Chief of the journal Cryobiology, on the Editorial Advisory Boards of The Journal of Physical Chemistry A, B, & C and of Langmuir, and on the Editorial Board of Advances in Colloid and Interface Science. She has previously served as a member of the Physical Sciences Advisory Committee for the Canadian Space Agency, the Board of Directors of the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering, and the Executive Committee of the American Chemical Society Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry.

Dr. Elliott’s research has been recognized nationally and internationally in science and engineering by the American Chemical Society Langmuir Lectureship Award (2022), Fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada (2022), Fellowship in the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (2019), Fellowship in the Society for Cryobiology (2018), Fellowship in the Chemical Institute of Canada (2015), the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering Syncrude Canada Innovation Award (2008), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Doctoral Prize (1998), the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers Young Engineer Achievement Award (2001), the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research Young Explorer’s Prize (2002), and Time Magazine’s Canadians Who Define the New Frontiers of Science (2002). Dr. Elliott has also received many provincial and University awards including the APEGA Summit Excellence in Education Award (2017), the University of Alberta Teaching Unit Award (2004, 2016) and the Faculty of Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award (2021). As one student put it, “She could convince rocks to study thermodynamics.