Workshops for Students

ASC group workshops are designed to teach you new skills that you can apply directly to your academic work. Presented by our specialists, each workshop focuses on specific academic tasks and concerns with university-level studying and reading, time management and planning, exams, or writing. To support your academic progress, our workshops are free to U of A students. 

Non-U of A students, staff, faculty and alumni are charged a nominal fee and must register for workshops by contacting success@ualberta.ca.

You may access registration for one of our group workshops through campusBRIDGE.


Workshops by Month

January 2023

Registration Opens

Title of Workshop

Date of Workshop

Start Time

End Time

Platform

Jan-2

Characteristics of Effective Writing

Tuesday, January 10

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-2

Active Learning (1): Getting
the Most Out of Your Courses

Wednesday, January 11

11:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Jan-2

Planning Term Assignments (Companion to Weekly Schedules)

Thursday, January 12

1:00 PM

1:50 PM

In-Person

Jan-2

Feedback Series Part 1: Giving

Friday, January 13

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-2

Shifting Your Thinking about Writing in Graduate School

Friday, January 13

11:00 AM

11:45 AM

Zoom

Jan-2

Writing the Introduction

Saturday, January 14

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-9

Writing Thesis Statements

Monday, January 16

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-9

Writing the Conclusion

Tuesday, January 17

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-9

Soft Skills Series, Part 1:
Critical Thinking
(Undergraduate Only)

Tuesday, January 17

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-9

Managing Major Projects
(Thesis-Based)

Tuesday, January 17

1:00 PM

2:20 PM

Zoom

Jan-9

UG: Active Learning (2): Listening

Wednesday, January 18

11:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Jan-9

Weekly Schedules (Companion
to Planning Term Assignments)

Thursday, January 19

1:00 PM

1:50 PM

In-Person

Jan-9

Feedback Series Part 2: Receiving

Friday, January 20

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-16

Punctuation Power and Relationships

Tuesday, January 24

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-16

Soft Skills Series, Part 2:
Engaging Academically (Undergraduate Only)

Tuesday, January 24

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-16

Managing Major Projects (Course-Based)

Tuesday, January 24

1:00 PM

2:20 PM

Zoom

Jan-16

Active Learning (3):
Note-Taking

Wednesday, January 25

11:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Jan-16

Concept Mapping for Learning and Remembering

Thursday, January 26

1:00 PM

1:50 PM

Zoom

Jan-16

Feedback Series Part 3: Implementing

Friday, January 27

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Writing Concisely

Tuesday, January 31

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Soft Skills Series, Part 3:
Academic Communication (Undergraduate Only)

Tuesday, January 31

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Read It Right the First Time

Tuesday, January 31

1:00 PM

2:20 PM

In-Person

 
February 2023

Registration Opens

Title of Workshop

Date of Workshop

Start Time

End Time

Platform

Jan-23

Active Learning (4): Content Review

Wednesday, February 1

11:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

De-Mystifying the Essay Part 1: Freewriting Your First Draft

Wednesday, February 1

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

In-Person

Jan-23

Reading Textbooks

Thursday, February 2

1:00 PM

1:50 PM

Zoom

Jan-23

Communicating Effectively with Your Graduate Studies Supervisor

Friday, February 3

10:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Plagiarism: Getting It Right (so you aren't wrong)

Saturday, February 4

9:00 AM

11:00 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Planning Your Paper (Undergraduate)

Monday, February 6

1:00 PM

2:50 PM

In-Person

Jan-23

Writing Clearly and Coherently

Monday, February 6

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Quoting Effectively

Tuesday, February 7

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Reading Research Papers (Graduate)

Tuesday, February 7

1:00 PM

2:20 PM

Zoom

Jan-23

Active Learning (5): Exam Planning

Wednesday, February 8

11:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Writing an Effective Funding Proposal

Wednesday, February 8

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

In-Person

Jan-23

Retrieval Practice

Thursday, February 9

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Jan-23

Defending Your Dissertation or Thesis

Friday, February 10

10:00 AM

11:50 AM

Zoom

Feb-6

Beyond “Your Own Words”: Paraphrasing

Monday, February 13

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Feb-6

Polishing Presentations, Part 1: Refining Content and Visuals

Tuesday, February 14

9:30 AM

10:50 AM

In-Person

Feb-6

Editing and Revising Your Documents

Tuesday, February 14

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Feb-6

Writing Your Thesis or
Dissertation in Two Pages a Day

Wednesday, February 15

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

Zoom

Feb-6

Polishing Presentations, Part 2: Audience Engagement

Thursday, February 16

9:30 AM

10:50 AM

In-Person

Feb-6

Reading Research Papers (Undergraduate)

Monday, February 27

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

March 2023

Registration Opens

Title of Workshop

Date of Workshop

Start Time

End
Time

Platform

Feb-20

De-Mystifying the Essay Part 2: Structuring Your Argument

Wednesday, March 1

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

Zoom

Feb-20

Writing a Literature Review (Companion to Reading Research Papers)

Thursday, March 2

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

In-Person

Feb-20

A Thesis Writer's Workshop

Friday, March 3

10:00 AM

11:30 AM

In-Person

Feb-20

Writing the Introduction

Monday, March 6

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Feb-20

Last-Minute Exam Strategies

Wednesday, March 8

1:00 PM

2:20 PM

Zoom

Feb-20

Reading Research Papers (Graduate)

Friday, March 10

Friday, March 31

10:00 AM

11:20 AM

Zoom

Mar-6

Writing Thesis Statements

Tuesday, March 14

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Mar-6

Writing the Conclusion

Saturday, March 18

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Mar-6

Punctuation Power and Relationships

Saturday, March 18

11:00 AM

12:30 PM

Zoom

Mar-6

Writing Clearly and Coherently

Tuesday, March 21

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Mar-6

Writing Concisely

Tuesday, March 28

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Mar-6

Revising a Chapter for
Publication

Wednesday, March 29

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

Zoom

Mar-6

De-Mystifying the Essay Part 3: Revising Your Final Draft

Wednesday, March 29

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

Zoom

April 2023

Registration Opens

Title of Workshop

Date of Workshop

Start Time

End
Time

Platform

Mar-20

Plagiarism: Getting It Right
(so you aren't wrong)

Saturday,
April 1

9:00 AM

11:00 AM

Zoom

Mar-20

Beyond “Your Own Words”: Paraphrasing

Tuesday,
April 4

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Mar-20

Crafting a Thesis or
Dissertation Proposal

Wednesday, April 5

1:00 PM

2:30 PM

In-Person

Mar-20

Editing and Revising Your Documents

Tuesday,
April 11

9:00 AM

10:30 AM

Zoom

Mar-20

Last-Minute Exam Strategies

Tuesday,
April 11

2:00 PM

3:20 PM

Zoom

Audience

Students

Category
Academic Support
Provider
Provost