June Awards and Accolades

Congratulations to the Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation alumni, faculty, staff and students being recognized this month!

28 June 2019

Faculty Recognition

Valerie Carson: University of Alberta Killam Accelerator Research Award. This prestigious inaugural award is granted on a competitive basis to early career researchers based on the outstanding promise shown in their research output and the impact of their scholarly activity.

UAlberta Bears on Bike MS Bike Tour Team: Best Dressed Team for the 2019 MS Bike Tour: Leduc to Camrose The team also surpassed their fundraising goal, raising $45,630 for MS research and awareness initiatives.

Folio: The University of Alberta won a silver medal at the CASE Circle of Excellence for general news writing. The Folio team submitted three of their most read stories for the award, one of which was the 'Everything you need to know about weight training' story featuring the expertise of Loren Chiu. This was a nice collaborative effort between Loren, the KSR communications team, the Folio team and Athletics (who shot the tutorial videos with Loren and a student-athlete in the Sport Performance Centre to supplement the story). The other two stories that were submitted for the award were:

Staff Recognition

Ki-Yong An (Postdoctoral Fellow): Best Abstract in the Early Career category from the Cancer Prevention and Management Special Interest Group at the 2019 International Society of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity (ISBNPA) annual meeting. Research Topic: Longer-term effects of exercise dose and type during breast cancer chemotherapy on quality of life, cancer-related symptoms and psychosocial outcomes

Student Recognition

Nicholas Kuzik
(PhD Candidate) presented on behalf of Valerie Carson at the 2019 International Society of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity (ISBNPA) conference and won Best Oral Presentation for their special interest group, Early Care and Education. Research topic: "Are toddlers and preschoolers less sedentary and more active in childcare when their early child educators are less sedentary and more active?"

Rachel Skow (PhD Candidate): Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize. The Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize is an award which was named for the President of the University of Alberta from 1950 to 1959, under whose administration the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research was created. The major selection criterion of this award is research accomplishment during the student's PhD program.

Alumni Recognition

Garry Meadus (BPE '59, Bed '60): City of Edmonton Sports Wall of Fame 2019 Inductee. A plaque on the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology's (NAIT's) Athletic Wall of Fame describes Garry Meadus perfectly: "The Architect of Student Services and NAIT Athletics." Garry played a prominent role in NAIT's first 40 years. His responsibilities at various times included student health services, counselling, awards, student association mentoring and liaison, and registrar's office, as well as intramural and intercollegiate athletics. In 1963, he coached men's basketball (NAIT's first team in any sport), became NAIT's first golf coach in 1965, and in 1971 his name was associated with the R. G. (Garry) Meadus Rookie of the Year Award.

Garry modelled how to advocate and lead with value-based decision making and respectful leadership. His sense of humour kept people engaged as he modelled how best to build relationships in often adversarial or potentially win-lose situations. His mentorship of coaches and support staff contributed to NAIT being recognized throughout the city, province, and country as a leading polytechnic. During his tenure, NAIT's hockey program achieved a record number of Canadian Colleges Athletic Association championships.

George Kingston (BPE '60, Bed '63, MPE '68, PhD '78): George has become the second Golden Bears hockey alumnus to receive the Order of Hockey Canada Award. Kingston, who competed on the Golden Bears hockey team for five seasons (1958-63), and won three Canada West championships, was awarded the honour, along with Ken Hitchcock and Jayna Hefford at a June gala held in Edmonton. He joins Clare Drake as one of two Golden Bears hockey alumni who have been awarded the prestigious Hockey Canada Award. READ MORE