Faculty

This page lists our faculty members. You will find information regarding other academics (adjuncts, lecturers, emeriti), administrative staff, graduate students and alumni on each of their corresponding pages.

 

Stephanie Archer
(Ph.D, University of Calgary)

 

Assistant Professor
Infant speech perception, first language acquisition, psycholinguistics, phonetics, phonology.
Office: ASH 4-20, (780) 492-3480
E-mail: slarcher@ualberta.ca

Anja Arnhold
(PhD, Goethe-University, Frankfurt)

Assistant Professor
Prosody, phonology, phonetics, information structure, typology, Finnish, Inuit
Office: ASH 4-24, (780) 492-6912
E-mail: arnhold@ualberta.ca
Antti Arppe
(PhD, University of Helsinki)
Associate Professor
Lexical semantics, corpus linguistics, statistical methods, exploiting multiple methods and sources of evidence.
Office: ASH 4-44, (780) 492-1935
E-mail:
arppe@ualberta.ca
David Beck
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor
Field linguistics, morphosyntax, typology, cognitive linguistics, areal diffusion, Native American languages, particularly Salishan and Totonacan.
Office: ASH 4-63, (780) 492-0807
E-mail: dbeck@ualberta.ca
Marina Blekher
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Teaching Professor
Bilingualism, second language acquisition, psycholinguistics.
Office: ASH 4-43, (780) 492-4970
E-mail: mblekher@ualberta.ca
Herbert L. Colston
(PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz)
Professor and Chair
Pragmatics, psycholinguistics, figurative language, language development, psychology of language.
Office: ASH 4-36A, (780) 492-5500
E-mail: colston@ualberta.ca
Evangelia Daskalaki
(PhD, University of Cambridge)
Assistant Professor
Syntax, morphology, language typology, heritage languages, Greek, Salish
Office: ASH 4-61, (780) 248-1492
E-mail: daskalak@ualberta.ca

Martín Guardado
(PhD, University of British Columbia)

Professor
Sociocultural linguistics, applied linguistics, heritage language socialization, discourse analysis, English for academic purposes
Office: ASH 4-44, (780) 492-0804
E-mail: guardado@ualberta.ca

Juhani Järvikivi
(PhD, University of Joensuu)

Professor & Associate Chair - Undergraduate Studies
Psycholinguistics, situated language comprehension, child language processing, discourse relations, spoken language, morphological processing.
Office: ASH 4-55, (780) 492-5697
E-mail: jarvikiv@ualberta.ca
Undergraduate Advising: lingugr@ualberta.ca

Jordan Lachler
(PhD, University of New Mexico)
Assistant Professor & CILLDI Director
Language documentation, language revitalization.
Office:
ASH 1-50C, (780) 248-1179
E-mail:
lachler@ualberta.ca
Terry Nadasdi
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor
Sociolinguistics, applied linguistics, Canadian French.
Office: ASH 4-26, (780) 492-9485
E-mail: terry.nadasdi@ualberta.ca
Johanne Paradis
(PhD, McGill University)

Professor & Associate Chair - Graduate Studies
First, second, and bilingual language acquisition; specific language impairment in children.
Office: ASH 4-57, (780) 492-0805
E-mail: johanne.paradis@ualberta.ca
Graduate advising: linggrad@ualberta.ca
Applications inquiries: lingapps@ualberta.ca

Sally A. Rice
(PhD, UC San Diego)
Professor
Syntax/semantics, lexical semantics, cognitive linguistics, corpus linguistics, field linguistics, Athapaskan languages.
Office:
ASH 3-02A, (780) 492-0809
E-mail: sally.rice@ualberta.ca

Jorge Emilio Rosés Labrada
(PhD, University of Western Ontario & Université
Lumière Lyon 2)

Assistant Professor
Language documentation and revitalization, historical linguistics, linguistic typology, Amazonian languages, First Nations languages.
Office:
ASH 4-22, (780) 492-5698
E-mail: jrosesla@ualberta.ca
Benjamin V. Tucker
(PhD, University of Arizona)
Professor
Phonetics, psycholinguistics, laboratory phonology, field linguistics, language documentation and revitalization.
Office: ASH 4-15, (780) 492-5952
E-mail: bvtucker@ualberta.ca