Obstetrics & Gynecology

The da Vinci Code: Breaking New Ground

Welcoming Canada's first minimally invasive surgical tool dedicated to women's health.

WCHRI Research Day Highlights

A summary of events from the 2015 Annual WCHRI Research Day

The University of Alberta’s Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Jane Schulz as interim chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology for a two-year term, commencing July 15, 2019.

Dr. Schulz is a professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and head of the Urogynecology Division. She graduated with Honors in Research from the University of Alberta's Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry in 1992. She completed her Obstetrics and Gynecology residency at the University of Alberta, after which she obtained a McLaughlin scholarship and completed a two-year urogynecology fellowship at the University of London, England, and the University of Toronto.

In 1999, she accepted an academic position in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Alberta and joined the Urogynecology unit at the Royal Alexandra Hospital.

Dr. Schulz is part of a large clinical academic practice at the Lois Hole Hospital for Women, in addition to being involved in ongoing teaching of medical students, residents, physicians in the community, and allied health professionals. She co-ordinated the student internship program at the Royal Alexandra Hospital for two years, has run the CaRMS process for eight years, and was the resident research director from 2001-2016. She has served as the academic and clinical division lead for urogynecology since January 2009.

Dr. Schulz’s research focus is on clinical innovation, quality improvement, and projects that have immediate clinical knowledge translation. She is an active member of the Women’s and Children’s Health Research Institute. In addition, she has served as the North American representative to the International Committee of the International Urogynecology Association (IUGA), and currently serves on the IUGA publications committee.

The Faculty thanks Dr. Radha Chari, outgoing chair, for her commitment and efforts during her tenure.


Department Calendar