Obstetrics & Gynecology

Please visit our Research Day page for the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology's 35 annual Research Day!

Group of People

The University of Alberta's Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology is a Centre of Excellence in education, research and clinical care in women's health. Internationally recognized for our innovative, collaborative and multidisciplinary approaches, we impact positively on the health of women.

The department of Obstetrics and Gynecology has five academic divisions, 19 full-time academic faculty members, and over 100 clinical academic colleagues in general obstetrics and gynecology. Our faculty members encompass the full range of academic medicine including Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility, Gynecological Oncology, Reproductive Sciences and Urogynecology. This accomplished team of educators trains medical undergraduate and postgraduate students in the provision of innovative patient care.

Our passion for delivering the highest quality education is matched by our research strength. Multidisciplinary and collaborative research projects are nurtured and developed across disciplines, departments and faculties. The department's distinguished cadre of scientists focus on clinical, discovery and translational research that bring our work from the lab bench to the bedside, where it matters most.

In addition to our undergraduate medical clerkship and five-year residency program, the department offers innovative graduate degrees in Medical Sciences and Maternal and Child Health. This year, a PhD program in Obstetrics and Gynecology will be introduced as part of our comprehensive educational programming. A fellowship in Urogynecology is also offered every two years.

Our clinical divisions and administrative offices are housed in the Lois Hole Hospital for Women, the only women's hospital in Alberta. This bright, modern facility at the Royal Alexandra Hospital site opened in 2010 and sees 75,000 patients annually from across Alberta and the Canadian Northwest. As a national leader in women's health, the Lois Hole Hospital for Women specializes in the treatment of high-risk labour and pregnancies, performs thousands of surgical procedures, and provides women's health management programs and ongoing education for both patients and the medical community.

Other local teaching hospitals-including the Grey Nuns, Misericordia, Royal Alexandra and Sturgeon County General Hospital-generate rich learning experiences for our students, faculty and clinicians. A regional network of clinical affiliates provide extended educational and elective opportunities throughout Alberta, British Columbia and the Northwest Territories. Finally, our basic science research labs are located within the Heritage Medical Research Centre (HMRC) on UAlberta's main campus.

The Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology belongs to the School of Human Development in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Alberta. The faculty, located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, is internationally ranked as one of the world's top 50 medical schools.