Graduate Studies

We are Canada's premier institution for the study of Gender and Politics, Critical Political Economy, and the politics of Canada and Alberta. There are also clusters of faculty working on more specific themes: Indigenous politics and decolonization; China and the world; the politics of resource extraction and environmentalism; ethnic politics and migration; and globalization. The department is home to three Canada Research Chairs-Yasmeen Abu-Laban in the Politics of Citizenship and Human Rights, Isabel Altamirano-Jiménez in Comparative Indigenous Feminist Studies, and Joshua St. Pierre in Critical Disability Studies. Additionally, Mojtaba Mahdavi holds the ECMC Chair in Islamic Studies and Cressida Heyes holds the Henry Marshall Tory Chair. Our faculty are a close-knit group of emerging and established scholars who stress excellence in teaching and mentoring, and who seek to integrate graduate students as junior scholars into our intellectual community.


The MA in Political Science prepares you for a variety of careers including political support roles and government, as well as a prerequisite for PhD studies in Political Science and further studies in Business or Law.

Learn More

The PhD program is a unique opportunity for those students who are very sure that they want to devote a number of years to advanced study, much of which time will be spent conducting self-directed research on a very specific topic.

Learn More

The Master of Arts in Policy Studies (MAPS) prepares students to conduct leading research in public policy and advance solutions to our world's most pressing policy challenges.

Learn More


Application Deadline

Opens: October 01
Closes: January 15

Graduate Advisor

5-7 HM Tory Building