Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Deans Selections and Reviews

The University of Alberta‘s selection and reappointment of deans is governed by the Faculty Deans Selection Procedure and Faculty Deans Review Procedure. Prior to the end of a dean’s appointment, a selection or review committee is established to select a new dean, or to review the performance of the current dean. 

For more information on dean selection and review committee compositions for each faculty, please see the Faculty Deans Selection Procedure Appendix A:  Dean Selection Committees for Individual Faculties.

Deans Selection and/or Review Committees (2016 - 2017)

The following faculties will undergo a dean selection or review during the 2016-17 year:

Faculty of Education - (completed)
Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research
Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry - (completed)
Faculty of Native Studies
Faculty of Nursing - (completed)
Faculty of Science - Review (completed)

The dean selection and review committees are established in accordance to GFC regulations. Members are elected or appointed from the various constituencies of the Faculty: Faculty members, non-professoriate staff, students and representatives from professional and community associations. Once established, the committees will seek advice and opinion on the leadership needs of each Faculty.