ATS Lecturers 2021-2022

At the University of Alberta the term Sessional Instructor has been replaced by Academic Teaching Staff (ATS) Lecturer.

This page is a listing of our current ATS Lecturers. Note that not all lecturers will teach in each academic year, therefore the names listed here will vary from year to year. Current students should refer to Bear Tracks for the most recent information on scheduled courses and instructors.


Nicola Amato

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
nicolaan@ualberta.ca • amatonicola@hotmail.com 

Course Taught:
LIS 533 - Database Design for Information Management (IT)


Robert Desmaris

Head, Special Collections, Library and Museums - Information Resources
robert.desmarais@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 586 - History of the Book


Norene Erickson, PhD

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
njames@ualberta.ca 

Courses Taught:
LIS 503 - Reference and Information Services
LIS 505 - Introduction to Research in Library and Information Studies


Sharon Farnel, PhD

Head, Metadata Strategies, Library and Museums - Cataloguing and Metadata Strategies
sharon.farnel@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 502 - Organization of Knowledge and Information
LIS 532 - Metadata


Jessie Loyer

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
jloyer@ualberta.ca 

Courses Taught:
LIS 598 - Indigenous Contexts for Library and Information Studies in Canada


Jason Openo, PhD Candidate

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
openo@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 504 - Leadership & Management Principles for Library & Information Services


Sarah Polkinghorne, PhD

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
sarah.polkinghorne@ualberta.ca 

Course Taught:
LIS 543 - Human information Interaction


Angela Pollak

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
pollak@ualberta.ca 

Course Taught:
LIS 543 - Human information Interaction


Joanne Rodger, PhD

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
joanne.rodger@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:

LIS 503 - Reference and Information Services
LIS 526 - Instructional Practices in Library and Information Services
LIS 548 - Library Services to Children and Young Adults
LIS 598 - Issues and Trends in Public Libraries


Allison Rukavina

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
arukavin@ualberta.ca 

Course Taught:
LIS 598 - Special Collections/History of the Book


Maggie Shane, PhD

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
mashane@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 585 - Multimedia Literacies
LIS 594 - Records Management


Robyn Stobbs, PhD Candidate

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
stobbs@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 534 - Information Architecture: Web Design for Usability (IT)
LIS 597 - Advanced Research and Scholarship in LIS
LIS 598 - Emerging and Evolving Technologies


Jennifer Waters

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
jmwaters@ualberta.ca 

Course Taught:
LIS 515 - Materials for Young Adults


Lei Zhang, PhD

Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Education - School of Library and Information Studies
lei4@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 502 - Organization of Information
LIS 532 - Metadata