Current Chancellor

Chancellor Peggy Garritty

Chancellor Peggy Garritty

Peggy Garritty was elected the 22nd Chancellor of the University of Alberta in March 2020. She was installed on June 18, 2020 at the Timms Centre for the Arts. Click here to read Chancellor Garritty's Installation Address.

Read more about Chancellor Garritty's thoughts about her new role on the Quad.

Peggy is passionate about words and ideas. She owns her own consulting company, working with companies, organizations and individuals to facilitate conversations, address issues, clarify their purpose, and develop their unique brands. 

For more than ten years, she served as Chief Reputation and Brand Officer at ATB Financial. She led a team of creative and talented people responsible for creating ATB’s story and transforming its brand in the marketplace, marketing ATB’s services and raising its profile and reputation with Albertans, expanding ATB’s commitment to corporate social responsibility, investing in sponsorships and community initiatives across the province, ensuring clear and consistent internal and external communications, and providing insights on Alberta’s economy. 

Prior to joining ATB, Peggy owned and operated her own business as a strategic communications consultant and was instrumental in writing a number of provincial and national reports in finance, health and education. 

Peggy is past chair of the board for the Winspear Centre and Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, chairs the board for the Edmonton Screen Industries Office, is a member of the board for the Art Gallery of Alberta and she serves as an Executive Fellow for the School of Public Policy at the University of Calgary. She previously served as a member of the Advisory Board for the Children’s Wish Foundation and the Alberta Mental Health Foundation and was a founding member of the St. Albert Community Foundation.

Peggy holds two degrees from the University of Alberta – a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) and a Master of Arts degree in Sociology. She also is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D). In 2013 she was awarded a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal. 

Contact the University of Alberta Chancellor

Chancellor Peggy Garritty
Office of the Chancellor & Senate
322 Art & Convocation Hall
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB     T6G 2E6
Phone:  780.492.2268

Contact the Senate Staff