Senate Chamber Doors

The University of Alberta Senate membership is mandated in the Post-Secondary Learning Act, 2003 and includes ex officio, appointed, and elected members. Members are all volunteers and are drawn from as broad a representation of society as possible.

The main requirements for publicly-elected members of Senate are that they care about the University and the community that is serves, and are willing to spend time helping to translate that concern into positive results. More information on the role and expectations of Senators and the application processes can be found following these links.

Senate Composition

Details about our current membership can be found here.

What We Do

Senate Strategic Plan

Chancellor's Forum
Task Forces
Honorary Degrees
Book the Senate Chamber
Emil Skarin Fund
Representatives, Liaisons & Lay Observers

U School Logo    Chancellor's Cup Logo

Contact Us

Office of the Chancellor & Senate
322 Arts & Convocation Hall
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB     T6G 2E6

Senate Staff Contacts