About the Lee Playwright in Residence Endowment

The Lee Playwright in Residence Endowment (created by the Clifford E. Lee Foundation) is dedicated to the creation of new Canadian plays and to the development of emerging and established Canadian playwrights.

This permanent Playwright in Residence program at the University of Alberta was established in 2005 and was the first of its kind among Canadian universities. The innovative residency offers a unique opportunity for a Canadian playwright to devote time to their writing and to make a significant contribution to new play development within the university and professional theatre community in Edmonton.

In addition to the residency, the Lee Playwright may also accept a commission to write a new play for the Department of Drama's main stage UofA Studio Theatre season.

Former Lee Playwrights

  • Beth Graham (2020-2023)
  • Meg Braem (2017-2020)
  • Colleen Murphy (2014-2017)
  • Greg MacArthur (2011-2013)
  • Kevin Kerr (2007-2010)
  • Don Hannah (2005-2007)

Call for Applicants: Lee Playwright in Residence

(the competition is now closed)

Call for Entries: Lee Playwriting Prize for New Canadian Plays

(the competition is now closed)