Our alumni are practicing, vibrant, and excelling members of many theatre communities.

Since its inception in the 1940s, the Department of Drama has been committed to the training and education of the future artists and visionary leaders of Canadian theatre.

You only need to look at our many alumni filling key artistic leadership roles across the country to see why the University of Alberta's Department of Drama is widely regarded as one of North America's top training grounds for theatre.

We are proud to count visionaries such as Paul Gross, winner of the 2009 Governor General National Arts Centre Award for Achievement, and longtime Stratford Festival designer and Vancouver 2010 Olympic Ceremonies design director, Douglas Paraschuk, among our distinguished University of Alberta drama alumni.

We delight in seeing the names of our graduates in playbills at regional theatres across Canada, such as artistic director of Theatre Passe Murielle director, Jennifer Tarver; artistic director of Calgary's Alberta Theatre Projects, Vanessa Porteous; co-artistic director of Outside the March Theatre Company, Mitchell Cushman; and BFA Acting graduate Samantha Hill, currently appearing on Broadway in Les Miserables.

Recent Graduates

Edmonton Alumni



Alumni in the News