Economics

Faculty . Adjunct . Academic Teaching Staff . Contract Instructors . Professors Emeriti

Faculty

 Martin Alfaro
Martin Alfaro

Assistant Professor
malfaro@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
International Trade, Industrial Organization

 Dana Andersen


Dana Andersen

Assistant Professor
dca@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Environmental and Natural REsource Economics 
 Vera Brencic
Vera Brencic

Associate Professor
vbrencic@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Labour Economics
 David Brown


David Brown
Assistant Professor
dpbrown@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Energy, Applied Econometrics 
Industrial Organization
 Chetan Dave
Chetan Dave
Assistant Professor
cdave@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Macroeconomics, Econometrics
Experimental Economics
 Andrew Eckert
Andrew Eckert

Professor 
aeckert@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
 Industrial Organization
 Heather Eckert
Heather Eckert

Associate Professor
Assoc. Chair, Graduate
heckert@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Environmental Economics
Economics of Education
 Sebastian Fossati
Sebastian Fossati

Associate Professor
sfossati@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Time Series Econometrics
Empirical Macroeconomics
 Valentina Galvani
Valentina Galvani
Associate Professor
Assoc. Chair, Undergrad
valentina.galvani@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
General Equilibrium
Financial Economics 
 Pinar Gunes
Pinar Gunes

Assistant Professor
gunes@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Labor Economics
Demographic Economics
Health Economics
Economics of Education
 Dmytro Hryshko
Dmytro Hryshko

Associate Professor 
dhryshko@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Macroeconomics
Labor Economics
 Haifang Huang
Haifang Huang

Associate Professor
haifang.huang@ualberta.ca 
Profile Page
Macroeconomics
Urban and Housing Economics
 Tilman Klumpp


Tilman Klumpp

Professor
tilman.klumpp@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 

Microeconomics
Public Economics
Political Economics
Law and Economics
Industrial Organization
 Claudia Landeo Claudio Landeo
Associate Professor
landeo@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Law and Economics
Experimental and Behavioral Economics
Game Theory
 Corinne Langinier
Corinne Langinier

Associate Professor
Director,
Institute for Public Economics
langinie@ualberta.ca 
Profile Page
Industrial Organization
Applied Microeconomics
Agricultural Economics
 Xingfei Liu
Xingfei Liu

Assistant Professor
xingfei@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Labor Economics
Applied Econometrics
Policy Evaluation
Economics of Migration
 Joseph Marchand
Joseph Marchand

Associate Professor
jmarchan@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
 Labour and Demographic Economics
 Andrew McGee


Andrew McGee

Associate Professor
mcgee1@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 

Labour Economics
 Jeffrey Penney
Jeffrey Penney

Assistant Professor
penney1@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Applied Microeconomics
Labour Economics
Economics of Education
 Ashantha Ranasinghe
Ashantha Ranasinghe

Assistant Professor
ranasinghe@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Macroeconomics
Economic Growth and Development
 Mesbah Sharaf


Mesbah Sharaf
Assoc. Teaching Professor
sharaf@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Development Economics
Health and Population Economics
 Malik Shukayev
Malik Shukayev

Associate Professor
shukayev@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Macroeconomics
Monetary Economics 
 Todd Smith
R. Todd Smith

Professor
todd.smith@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Macroeconomics
Financial Economics 
 Xuejan Su
Xuejuan Su

Associate Professor
xuejuan1@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Public Economics
Economics of Education
Regulatory Economics, Energy
 Rick Szostak Chair of Economics
Rick Szostak

Professor
Department Chair
rick.szostak@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Economic History
Methodology
Interdisciplinarity
 Beyza Ural Marchand
Beyza Ural Marchand

Associate Professor
ural@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Development Economics
International Trade
 Yingfeng Xu
Yingfeng Xu

Associate Professor
yingfeng.xu@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
International Trade and Finance
Economic Development
Pacific-Rim Economics
 
 Li Zhou
Li Zhou

Associate Professor
li.zhou@ualberta.ca
Profile Page 
Behavioral and Experimental Economics
Urban and Housing Economics
International Trade and Finance
 

Adjunct Professor

Christopher McCabe Christopher McCabe
Professor
Emergency Medicine
mccabe1@ualberta.ca              
Profile Page
Economic Evaluation
Health Policy
CEA Modelling

Academic Teaching Staff

Abdul Aleem  Abdul Aleem
aleem1@ualberta.ca
Webpage
 Scott Beesley Scott Beesley
beesley@ualberta.ca 
 Alexander Gainer Alexander Gainer
gainer@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
 Valentina Kozlova Valentina Kozlova
vkozlova@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
 picture placeholder Gordon Lee
gordon.lee@ualberta.ca
Webpage 

Contract Instructors

Junaid bin Jahangir  Junaid bin Jahangir
junaid@ualberta.ca
 Iryna Nehayevska Iryna Nekhayevska
irynan@ualberta.ca
 Lorne Priemaza Lorne Priemaza
lorne.priemaza@ualberta.ca
 R. McKay White R. McKay White
rwhite@ualberta.ca 
 Andrew Wong Andrew Wong 
akwong@ualberta.ca

Professors Emeriti

Adolf Buse
Noxy Dastoor
David Feeny
Stuart Landon
Melville McMillan
Siddieq Noorzoy
Thomas Powrie
David Ryan
Vladimir Salyzyn
Shmuel Sharir
Connie Smith
Terry Veeman
Doug West
Bruce Wilkinson 
Sam Wilson
Denise Young