Enhanced Skills

Postgraduate training accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada is available under the auspices of the Department of Family Medicine supported by the office of the associate dean post-graduate medical education. In addition to the standard two-year program required for certification in family medicine, additional one-year training programs (PGY3s) in Addiction Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Palliative Care, Family Practice Anesthesia, Care of the Elderly, and Sport and Exercise Medicine are available through the Department of Family Medicine. These programs are accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada. Successful completion of these programs leads to a Certificate of Added Competence awarded by the College of Family Physicians of Canada. Admission to these certificate programs is competitive and requires an application process available through the department.


Provides training opportunities for Family Medicine Physicians who wish to supplement their comprehensive training skills in a specialized area.

Offers a variety of six-month to one-year training programs.

ProgramS Currently Available

Category 1 programs

Category 1 Programs with nationally standardized curricula. At the University of Alberta these currently include:

  • Addiction Medicine (12 month program)
  • CFPC Emergency Medicine (12 month program)
  • Care of the Elderly (6 or 12 month programs)
  • Family Practice-Anesthesiology (FP-A) (12 month program)
  • Palliative Care (12 month program)
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine (12 month program)

Category 2 programs

Category 2 Programs are local, university-based, and domain-specific competencies programs, under the Department of Family Medicine. 

  • Occupational Medicine (6 month program) 
  • Family Medicine Obstetrics (3 to 4 block program)

Certificate of Added Competence

Starting in 2015, family physicians who complete additional training in an enhanced skills PGY-3 residency training program will be eligible to receive a Certificate of Added Competency (CAC). Currently, CACs are only available for the following domains of care:

  • Addiction Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Practice Anesthesia
  • Palliative Care
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine

Contact Enhanced Skills

Email: fmes@ualberta.ca