Mathematical and Statistical Sciences

Research Areas

In the following tables you find researchers of the Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences associated with 6 broad subject areas.

  • Algebra
    Researcher Research Activities @ualberta.ca
    Xi Chen Algebraic Geometry xic
    Vladimir Chernousov Algebraic Groups, Galois Cohomology vladimir
    Gerald Cliff Group Theory gcliff
    Thomas Creutzig Fonformal Field Theory; Modular Forms, Lie Algebras creutzig
    Charles Doran Algebraic Geometry, Mathematical Physics charles.doran
    David Favero Algebraic Geometry, Derived Categories favero
    Terry Gannon Mathematics associated with Conformal Field Theory tjgannon
    Stefan Gille Quadratic Forms & Chow Motifs gille
    Nicolas Guay Algebra, Representation Theory
    nguay
    Nikita Karpenko Algebra, Algebraic Geometry karpenko
    Jochen Kuttler Algebraic Transformation Groups jochen.kuttler
    James Lewis Algebraic Geometry, Algebraic Cycles lewisjd
    Enver Osmanagic Valuation Theory enver
    Manish Patnaik Number Theory patnaik
    George Peschke Algebraic Topology, Homological Algebra, Homotopy Theory george.peschke
    Arturo Pianzola Applications of Galois Cohomology to Infinite Dimensional Lie Theory a.pianzola
    Alfred Weiss Algebra a.weiss
  • Analysis
    Researcher Research Activities @ualberta.ca
    John Bowman Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing: Turbulence Theory, Numerical Algorithms bowman
    Feng Dai Analysis, Approximation Theory fdai
    Bin Han Wavelet and Framelet Analysis, Approximation Theory bhan
    Rongqing Jia Analysis and Approximation Theory rjia
    Michael Kouritzin Stochastic Analysis, Large Deviations, Stochastic Convergence michaelk
    Anthony To-Ming Lau Functional Analysis anthonyt
    Alexander Litvak Asymptotic Geometric Analysis alitvak
    Peter Minev Numerical Methods, Computational Fluid Dynamics minev
    Brendan Pass Optimization: Optimal Transportation & Mathematical Physics pass
    Rene A. Poliquin Optimization & Variational Analysis rene.poliquin
    Volker Runde Functional Analysis & Abstract Harmonic Analysis vrunde
    Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann Asymptotic Geometric Analysis nicole.tomczak
    Vladimir Troitsky Functional Analysis & Theory of Operators troitsky
    Yau Shu Wong Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing: Applied Mathematics y.lin
    Vladyslav Yaskin Convex Geometry & Geometric Functional Analysis yaskin
  • Computational Mathematics and Optimization
    Researcher Research Activities @ualberta.ca
    John Bowman Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing: Turbulence Theory, Numerical Algorithms bowman
    Feng Dai Analysis, Approximation Theory fdai
    Bin Han Computational Harmonic Analysis, Wavelet-based Algorithms, Image Processing bhan
    Rongqing Jia Analysis and Approximation Theory rjia
    Peter Minev Numerical Methods, Computational Fluid Dynamics minev
    Brendan Pass Optimization: Optimal Transportation & Mathematical Physics pass
    Rene A. Poliquin Optimization & Variational Analysis rene.poliquin
    Yau Shu Wong Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing: Applied Mathematics y.lin
  • Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems, Fluid Mechanics, and Mathematical Biology
    Researcher
    Research Activities @ualberta.ca
    Arno Berger Dynamical Systems and Probability Theory arno.berger
    John Bowman Turbulence Theory, Numerical Algorithms bowman
    Gerda de Vries Mathematical Physiology, Dynamical Systems gerda.devries
    Thomas Hillen Mathematical Biology, Partial Differential Equations thillen
    Michael Kouritzin Martingale Problems, Stochastic (partial) differential equations, Markov Processes and Filtering michaelk
    Rouslan Krechetnikov Applied Mathematics; Theoretical Experimental Fluid Dynamics Partial Differential Equations krechet
    Mark Lewis Mathematical Biology and Ecology mlewis
    Michael Li Ordinary Differential Equations & Dynamical Systems; Mathematical Biology myli
    Peter Minev Numerical Methods, Computational Fluid Dynamics minev
    Brendan Pass Optimization: Optimal Transportation & Mathematical Physics pass
    Vakhtang Putkaradze Nonlinear Models in Physical Systems putkarad
    Gordon Swaters Geophysical Fluid Dynamics gordon.swaters
    Henry Van Roessel Coagulation Equations henry.vanroessel
    Hao Wang Mathematical Biology and Differential Equations hao8
    Xinwei Yu Partial Differential Equations & Fluid Mechanics xinwei.yu
  • Geometry, Topology, and Mathematical Physics
    Researcher Research Activities @ualberta.ca
    Vincent Bouchard String Theory, Geometry & Mathematical Physics vincent.bouchard
    Xi Chen Algebraic Geometry xic
    Thomas Creutzig Conformal Field Theory; Modular Forms & Lie Algebras creutzig
    Charles Doran Algebraic Geometry and Mathematical Physics charles.doran
    David Favero Algebraic Geometry, Derived Categories favero
    Terry Gannon Mathematics Associated with Conformal Theory tjgannon
    Dragos Hrimiuc Differential Geometry dhrimiuc
    Nikita Karpenko Algebra, Algebraic Geometry karpenko
    Jochen Kuttler Algebraic Transformation Groups jochen.kuttler
    James Lewis Algebraic Geometry; Algebraic Cycles lewisjd
    George Peschke Algebraic Topology, Homological Algebra, Homotopy Theory george.peschke
    Vakhtang Putkaradze Nonlinear Models in Physical Systems putkarad
    Eric Woolgar Mathematical Physics & Relativity Theory ewoolgar
    Vladislav Yaskin Convex Geometry & Geometric Functional Analysis yaskin
  • Statistics, Probability, and Mathematical Finance
    Researcher Research Activities @ualberta.ca
    Arno Berger Dynamical Systems and Probability Theory arno.berger
    Abel Cadenillas Mathematical Finance; Stochastic Processes & Control Theory abel
    Keumhee Chough Carriére Optimal repeated measurement designs, Methods for missing data, Multiple imputations, Small area variation, Mathematical Statistics kckarrie
    Tahir Choulli Mathematical Finance & Stochastic Analysis tchoulli
    Christoph Frei Mathematical Finance, Mathematical Economics & Stochastic Analysis cfrei
    Edith Gombay Mathematical Statistics egombay
    Giseon Heo Statistics & Computational Topology gheo
    Rohana Karunamuni Statistics karunamuni
    Henryk Kolacz Self-validating Methods, Computational Statistics kolacz
    Linglong Kong High-dimensional data analysis, Functional data analysis, and Neuroimaging data analysis; Robust statistics, Quantile regression, and Robust design; Statistical machine learning, Missing data Analysis, and Imaging genetics. lkong
    Michael Kouritzin Stochastic Processes, Probability Theory and Mathematical Statistics
    michaelk
    Subhash Lele Statistics; Spatial Statistics; Statistical Inference; Applications in Ecology and Public Health slele
    Alexander Melnikov Mathematical Finance melnikov
    Ivan Mizera Statistics and Probability imizera
    Narasimha Prasad Survey Sampling, Multivariate Analysis, Mixed Models nprasad
    Byron Schmuland Probability Theory; Stochastic Processes; Dirichlet Forms byrons
    Doug Wiens Robust Methods in Statistics doug.wiens