Mathematical and Statistical Sciences

Research Areas

In the following tables you find researchers of the Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences associated with 6 broad subject areas.

  • Algebra
    Researcher Research Activities Phone @ualberta.ca
    Xi Chen Algebraic Geometry 780 492-1704 xic
    Vladimir Chernousov Algebraic Groups, Galois Cohomology 780 492-0168 vladimir
    Gerald Cliff Group Theory 780 492-3528 gcliff
    Thomas Creutzig Fonformal Field Theory; Modular Forms, Lie Algebras 780 492-5737 creutzig
    Charles Doran Algebraic Geometry, Mathematical Physics 780 492-1249 charles.doran
    David Favero Algebraic Geometry, Derived Categories 780 492-0205 favero
    Terry Gannon Mathematics associated with Conformal Field Theory 780 492-3988 tjgannon
    Stefan Gille Quadratic Forms & Chow Motifs 780 492-8455 gille
    Nicolas Guay Algebra, Representation Theory
    780 492-3001 nguay
    Nikita Karpenko Algebra, Algebraic Geometry 780 492-4394 karpenko
    Jochen Kuttler Algebraic Transformation Groups 780 492-5736 jochen.kuttler
    James Lewis Algebraic Geometry, Algebraic Cycles 780 492-0217 lewisjd
    Enver Osmanagic Valuation Theory 780 492-8210 enver
    Manish Patnaik Number Theory 780 492-0570 patnaik
    George Peschke Algebraic Topology, Homological Algebra, Homotopy Theory 780 492-0565 george.peschke
    Arturo Pianzola Applications of Galois Cohomology to Infinite Dimensional Lie Theory 780 492-1784 a.pianzola
    Alfred Weiss Algebra 780 492-3420 a.weiss
  • Analysis
    Researcher Research Activities Phone @ualberta.ca
    John Bowman Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing: Turbulence Theory, Numerical Algorithms 780 492-0532 bowman
    Feng Dai Analysis, Approximation Theory 780 492-0218 fdai
    Bin Han Wavelet and Framelet Analysis, Approximation Theory 780 492-4289 bhan
    Rongqing Jia Analysis and Approximation Theory 780 492-6826 rjia
    Michael Kouritzin Stochastic Analysis, Large Deviations, Stochastic Convergence 780 492-2704 michaelk
    Anthony To-Ming Lau Functional Analysis 780 492-0398 anthonyt
    Alexander Litvak Asymptotic Geometric Analysis 780 492-3397 alitvak
    Peter Minev Numerical Methods, Computational Fluid Dynamics 780 492-3398 minev
    Brendan Pass Optimization: Optimal Transportation & Mathematical Physics 780 492-3974 pass
    Rene A. Poliquin Optimization & Variational Analysis 780 492-3531 rene.poliquin
    Volker Runde Functional Analysis & Abstract Harmonic Analysis 780 492-3526 vrunde
    Nicole Tomczak-Jaegermann Asymptotic Geometric Analysis 780 492-5163 nicole.tomczak
    Vladimir Troitsky Functional Analysis & Theory of Operators 780 492-8754 troitsky
    Yau Shu Wong Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing: Applied Mathematics 780 492-7880 y.lin
    Vladyslav Yaskin Convex Geometry & Geometric Functional Analysis 780 492-0216 yaskin
  • Computational Mathematics and Optimization
    Researcher Research Activities Phone @ualberta.ca
    John Bowman Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing: Turbulence Theory, Numerical Algorithms 780 492-0532 bowman
    Feng Dai Analysis, Approximation Theory 780 492-0218 fdai
    Bin Han Computational Harmonic Analysis, Wavelet-based Algorithms, Image Processing 780 492-4289 bhan
    Rongqing Jia Analysis and Approximation Theory 780 492-6826 rjia
    Peter Minev Numerical Methods, Computational Fluid Dynamics 780 492-3398 minev
    Brendan Pass Optimization: Optimal Transportation & Mathematical Physics 780 492-3974 pass
    Rene A. Poliquin Optimization & Variational Analysis 780 492-3531 rene.poliquin
    Yau Shu Wong Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing: Applied Mathematics 780 492-7880 y.lin
  • Differential Equations, Dynamical Systems, Fluid Mechanics, and Mathematical Biology
    Researcher
    Research Activities Phone @ualberta.ca
    Arno Berger Dynamical Systems and Probability Theory 780 492-3798 arno.berger
    John Bowman Turbulence Theory, Numerical Algorithms 780 492-0532 bowman
    Gerda de Vries Mathematical Physiology, Dynamical Systems 780 492-4561 gerda.devries
    Thomas Hillen Mathematical Biology, Partial Differential Equations 780 492-3395 thillen
    Michael Kouritzin Martingale Problems, Stochastic (partial) differential equations, Markov Processes and Filtering 780 492-2704 michaelk
    Rouslan Krechetnikov Applied Mathematics; Theoretical Experimental Fluid Dynamics Partial Differential Equations 780 492-3460 krechet
    Mark Lewis Mathematical Biology and Ecology 780 492-0197 mlewis
    Michael Li Ordinary Differential Equations & Dynamical Systems; Mathematical Biology 780 492-2032 myli
    Peter Minev Numerical Methods, Computational Fluid Dynamics 780 492-3398 minev
    Brendan Pass Optimization: Optimal Transportation & Mathematical Physics 780 492-3974 pass
    Vakhtang Putkaradze Nonlinear Models in Physical Systems 780 492-8750 putkarad
    Gordon Swaters Geophysical Fluid Dynamics 780 492-7159 gordon.swaters
    Henry Van Roessel Coagulation Equations 780 492-2617 henry.vanroessel
    Hao Wang Mathematical Biology and Differential Equations 780 492-5764 hao8
    Xinwei Yu Partial Differential Equations & Fluid Mechanics 780 492-5731 xinwei.yu
  • Geometry, Topology, and Mathematical Physics
    Researcher Research Activities Phone @ualberta.ca
    Vincent Bouchard String Theory, Geometry & Mathematical Physics 780 492-0099 vincent.bouchard
    Xi Chen Algebraic Geometry 780 492-1704 xic
    Thomas Creutzig Conformal Field Theory; Modular Forms & Lie Algebras 780 492-5737 creutzig
    Charles Doran Algebraic Geometry and Mathematical Physics 780 492-1249 charles.doran
    David Favero Algebraic Geometry, Derived Categories 780 492-0205 favero
    Terry Gannon Mathematics Associated with Conformal Theory 780 492-3988 tjgannon
    Dragos Hrimiuc Differential Geometry 780 492-3532 dhrimiuc
    Nikita Karpenko Algebra, Algebraic Geometry 780 492-4394 karpenko
    Jochen Kuttler Algebraic Transformation Groups 780 492-5736 jochen.kuttler
    James Lewis Algebraic Geometry; Algebraic Cycles 780 492-0217 lewisjd
    George Peschke Algebraic Topology, Homological Algebra, Homotopy Theory 780 492-0565 george.peschke
    Vakhtang Putkaradze Nonlinear Models in Physical Systems 780 492-8750 putkarad
    Eric Woolgar Mathematical Physics & Relativity Theory 780 492-2487 ewoolgar
    Vladislav Yaskin Convex Geometry & Geometric Functional Analysis 780 492-0216 yaskin
  • Statistics, Probability, and Mathematical Finance
    Researcher Research Activities Phone @ualberta.ca
    Arno Berger Dynamical Systems and Probability Theory 780 492-0798 arno.berger
    Abel Cadenillas Mathematical Finance; Stochastic Processes & Control Theory 780 492-0572 abel
    Keumhee Chough Carriére Optimal repeated measurement designs, Methods for missing data, Multiple imputations, Small area variation, Mathematical Statistics 780 492-4230 kckarrie
    Tahir Choulli Mathematical Finance & Stochastic Analysis 780 492-4230 tchoulli
    Christoph Frei Mathematical Finance, Mathematical Economics & Stochastic Analysis 780 492-3613 cfrei
    Edith Gombay Mathematical Statistics 780 492-2337 egombay
    Giseon Heo Statistics & Computational Topology 780 492-1332 gheo
    Rohana Karunamuni Statistics 780 492-5812 karunamuni
    Henryk Kolacz Self-validating Methods, Computational Statistics 780 492-6826 kolacz
    Linglong Kong High-dimensional data analysis, Functional data analysis, and Neuroimaging data analysis; Robust statistics, Quantile regression, and Robust design; Statistical machine learning, Missing data Analysis, and Imaging genetics. 780 492-0205 lkong
    Michael Kouritzin Stochastic Processes, Probability Theory and Mathematical Statistics
    780 492-2704 michaelk
    Subhash Lele Statistics; Spatial Statistics; Statistical Inference; Applications in Ecology and Public Health 780 492-4290 slele
    Alexander Melnikov Mathematical Finance 780 492-0568 melnikov
    Ivan Mizera Statistics and Probability 780 492-5811 imizera
    Narasimha Prasad Survey Sampling, Multivariate Analysis, Mixed Models 780 492-5733 nprasad
    Byron Schmuland Probability Theory; Stochastic Processes; Dirichlet Forms 780 492-3195 byrons
    Doug Wiens Robust Methods in Statistics 780 492-4406 doug.wiens