Meetings Schedule


All regularly scheduled meetings are held on Wednesdays at 4:00, except as noted. Committee chairs may call additional meetings as required.

Department Council
Location: Senate Chambers, Arts Building

Voting Members of Department Council:
William H Street, Chair 
All Continuing Members of Faculty
Music Librarian, by vote of Council
All full-time lecturers and full-time contract instructors
Postdoctoral Fellows, Canada Research Chairs, etc.
MSA Representative: Louise Ashdown
GMSA Representative: TBA
Two Part-Time contract instructors, elected: Brenda Dalen (Academic), Yue Deng (Performance)

Meeting Schedule for Department Council:

September 7, 2016  Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
October 5, 2016 Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
November 2, 2016  Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
December 7, 2016  Senate Chamber - 4:00pm 
January 11, 2017 Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
February 1, 2017 Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
March 1, 2017 Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
April 5, 2017 Senate Chamber - 4:00pm
May 5, 2017 Senate Chamber - 10:00am

*    *    *

Graduate Committee (includes grants and awards, scholarships, competitions and admissions) Location: ARTS 4-03
Christina Gier, Chair
Kimberly Arndt, Graduate Administrator
Julia Byl
Jacques Despres
Michael Frishkopf
Mark Hannesson
Leonard Ratzlaff
GMSA Representative: TBA

Undergraduate Committee (includes grants and awards, scholarships, competitions and admissions)
Location: FAB 3-56

Patricia Tao, Chair
Stephen Tchir, Undergraduate Administrator
Brian Fauteux
Scott Smallwood
Angela Schroeder
John Tessier
MSA Representative: Kelsey Getzinger

Meeting Schedule for Graduate and Undergraduate Committees:  Second Wednesday of every month.

September 14, 2016
October 12, 2016
November 9, 2016
December 14, 2016
January 11, 2017
February 8, 2017
March 8, 2017
April 12, 2017
May 10, 2017

*    *    *

President’s Fund Committee

William H Street,  Chair
Julia Byl
Christina Gier
Angela Schroeder
Morgan Gauthier
Paticia Tao

This committee will meet two weeks after the application deadlines. Friday, December 9, 2016 & Friday, May 26, 2017.

Application Deadlines (hard copy or electronic copy to be sent to the Chair’s office):

November 25 at 4:30 PM for the winter competition
May 13 at 4:30 PM for the summer competition

 *    *    *


Patricia Tao, Chair
Angela Schroeder
Maryam Moshaver
John Tessier
Howard Bashaw

*     *     *

Chair’s Executive

Christina Gier, Associate Chair Graduate Students
Patricia Tao, Associate Chair Undergraduate Students
Morgan Gauthier, Assistant Chair, Administration

*    *    *

FEC Tenure Representative:

Leonard Ratzlaff

FEC Advisory Committee:

Brian Fauteux

Jacques Despres

*    *    *

Student Advising

B.Mus., B.Mus./B.Ed.
Patricia Tao, Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies
Stephen Tchir, Undergraduate Administrator

M.Mus., D.Mus., M.A., Ph.D.
Christina Gier, Associate Chair of Graduate Studies
Kimberly Arndt, Graduate Administrator

B.A. Honours, B.A. Major/Minor in Music
Mary Ingraham (Fall);
David Gramit (Winter)

*    *    *

Area Coordination and Meetings

Academic Area Meeting Group:
Location of meetings: ARTS 4-03

Michael Frishkopf, Convener
Christina Gier
David Gramit
Mary Ingraham
Maryam Moshaver

Composition Area Meeting Group:
Location of meetings: FAB 2-15

Scott Smallwood, Convener 
Mark Hannesson

Performance Area Meeting Group:
Location of meetings: FAB 3-56

Allison Balcetis (Full-time Contract Instructor)
Jacques Depres, Convenor
Leonard Ratzlaff 
Angela Schroeder
Patricia Tao
John Tessier
Elizabeth Turnbull (Full-time Contract Instructor)

These three Meeting Groups are to enable the discussion of issues to particular areas of the department and to formulate proposals. Their decisions or recommendations should be forwarded to the appropriate department standing committee (Graduate or Undergraduate). The following Wednesdays at 4:00 p.m. are reserved for area meetings; additional meetings may be called by the area convener:

September 21, 2016
October 19, 2016
November 16, 2016
December 21, 2016
January 18, 2017
February 15, 2017
March 15, 2017

April 18, 2017
May 17, 2017

*    *    *

Sub-Area Convenors:

Christina Gier (Musicology)
David Gramit (Musicology)
Scott Smallwood(Composition)
Yue Deng (Chamber Music)
Jacques Despres(Keyboard)
John Tessier (Voice)
Angela Schroeder (Wind/Percussion)