Music

Meetings Schedule

2018-19 Department Council

Last Updated: Sept. 10, 2018

All regularly scheduled meetings are held on Wednesdays at 4:00, except as noted. Committee chairs may call additional meetings as required.

Location: Senate Chambers, Arts Building 

Meeting Schedule for Department Council:

Wed. Sept. 5, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 3, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 7, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Dec. 5, 2018 - 4:00pm
Fri. Jan. 4, 2019 - 10:00am [n.b. day and time]
Wed. Feb. 6, 2019 - 4:00pm
Wed. Mar. 6, 2019 - 4:00pm
Wed. Apr. 3, 2019 - 4:00pm
Wed. May 1, 2019 - 10:00am [n.b. time]
 
Full Voting Membership of Department Council:
William Street, Chair
Morgan Gauthier, Assistant Chair, Administration
All Continuing Members of Faculty
Lucinda Johnston, Music Librarian
All full-time lecturers and full-time contract instructors
Postdoctoral Fellows, Canada Research Chairs, etc.
MSA Representative: Britney Huynh
GMSA Representative: Gabriel Ojakovo
Part-Time Instructor Representative, Academic Area: Daryl Price
Part-Time Instructor Representative, Performance Area: Yue Deng

2017-18 Department of Music Committees

Graduate Committee 
Location: ARTS 4-03

Maryam Moshaver, Committee Chair
Kimberly Arndt, Graduate Advisor
Julia Byl
Michael Frishkopf
Christina Gier
Leonard Ratzlaff
Scott Smallwood
Guillaume Tardif
John Tessier
GMSA Representative: TBA

Wed. Sept. 12, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 10, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 14, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Dec. 12, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 9, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Feb. 13, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Mar. 13, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Apr. 10, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. May 8, 2019 - 4:00pm

 

Undergraduate Committee
Location: FAB 3-56

Patricia Tao, Committee Chair
Stephen Tchir, Undergraduate Advisor
Brian Fauteux
Mark Hannesson
Mary Ingraham
Angela Schroeder
MSA Representative: Britney Huynh

Wed. Sept. 12, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 10, 2018 - 4:00pm
[No meeting Nov. 14]
Wed. Dec. 12, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 9, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Feb. 13, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Mar. 13, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Apr. 10, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. May 8, 2019 - 4:00pm 


Area Coordination and Meetings:

These two meeting groups exist to enable the discussion of issues to particular areas of the department and to formulate proposals. Their decisions or recommendations should be forwarded to the appropriate department standing committee (Graduate or Undergraduate). Additional meetings may be called by the area convener.

Academic and Composition Area Meeting Group
Location: ARTS 4-03

Mark Hannesson, Convener
Christina Gier
Michael Frishkopf
Mary Ingraham
Maryam Moshaver
Laurel Parsons
Scott Smallwood
Julia Byl
Brian Fauteux
Andriy Talpash 

Wed. Sept. 19, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 17, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Dec, 19, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 16, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Feb. 20, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Mar. 20, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Apr. 17, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. May 15, 2019 - 4:00pm 

Performance Area Meeting Group
Location: FAB 3-56

Jacques Després, Convener
Allison Balcetis  
Leonard Ratzlaff
Angela Schroeder
William Street
Patricia Tao
Guillaume Tardif
John Tessier
Elizabeth Turnbull 

Wed. Sept. 19, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 17, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Dec, 19, 2018 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 23, 2019 - 4:00pm [n.b. date]
[No meeting currently scheduled for February]
Wed. Mar. 20, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. Apr. 17, 2019 - 4:00pm 
Wed. May 15, 2019 - 4:00pm  

Sub-Area Conveners: 

Allison Balcetis (Chamber Music)
Jacques Després (Keyboard)
Brian Fauteux (Ethnomusicology, Musicology, and World Music Ensembles) - Fall 2018
Christina Gier (Ethnomusicology, Musicology, and World Music Ensembles) - Winter 2019
Maryam Moshaver (Theory and Aural Skills)
Leonard Ratzlaff (Choral Conducting)
Angela Schroeder (Wind/Percussion)
Scott Smallwood (Composition)
Guillaume Tardif (Strings)
John Tessier (Voice)

Student Advising:

B.Mus., B.Mus./B.Ed.
Patricia Tao, Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies
Stephen Tchir, Undergraduate Advisor

M.Mus., D.Mus., M.A., Ph.D.
Maryam Moshaver, Associate Chair of Graduate Studies
Kimberly Arndt, Graduate Advisor

B.A. Honours, B.A. Major/Minor in Music
Mary Ingraham 


Other Committees:

Scholarship Committee
Patricia Tao, Committee Chair
Julia Byl
Mark Hannesson
Mary Ingraham
Angela Schroeder
Guillaume Tardif
John Tessier

Chair’s Executive
Morgan Gauthier, Assistant Chair, Administration
Maryam Moshaver, Associate Chair, Graduate
Patricia Tao, Associate Chair, Undergraduate

President's Fund Committee
William Street
Morgan Gauthier
Mark Hannesson
Brian Fauteux 
Guillaume Tardif 
John Tessier 

 

FEC Advisory Committee
Assistant Professor Representative - Julia Byl
Associate Professor Representative - John Tessier
Full Professor Representative - Michael Frishkopf

 

Affiliated Centres and Institutes
Canadian Centre for Ethnomusicology - Michael Frishkopf, Director and Academic Curator; Julia Byl, Associate Director
Sound Studies Initiative - Mary Ingraham, Director