Experimental Oncology

Faculty Members are involved in basic scientific research and translational (bench-to-bedside) research. Research interests include:
  1. Molecular analysis of breast cancer, brain tumours, melanoma, pediatric cancers and blood cancers
  2. Mechanisms underlying the repair of DNA damage caused by ionizing radiation and chemotherapeutic drugs
  3. Cell adhesion, cell migration and metastatic spread
  4. Epigenetics of cancer
  5. Tumour suppressor genes
  6. Tumour targeting viruses as cancer therapeutic agents
  7. Computational biology approaches to drug discovery
  8. Cell cycle regulation
  9. Membrane transporters and their role in drug transport and resistance

 

Possible areas of graduate research include:

Dr. Vickie Baracos vickie.baracos@ualberta.ca

Muscle atrophy in cancer associated cachexia

 

Dr. Kristi Baker kbaker2@ualberta.ca

Anti-tumor immunity; genetic instability; colorectal cancer

 

 

Dr. Gordon Chan gkc@ualberta.ca

Mitotic cell cycle checkpoint and cancer


 

Dr. YangXin Fu yangxin@ualberta.ca

Signaling pathways and gene regulation in ovarian cancer and therapeutics

 

Dr. Armin Gamper gamper@ualberta.ca

DNA damage response: radiation biology

 

 

Dr. Roseline Godbout rgodbout@ualberta.ca

Cancer as a developmental disease; retinoblastoma; brain tumors

 

 

Dr. Michael Hendzel michael.hendzel@ualberta.ca

Nuclear components; DNA damage response; chromatin-based epigenetic mechanisms

 

 

Dr. Mary Hitt mary.hitt@ualberta.ca

Oncolytic viruses; adenovirus replication; gene regulation; RNA interference; gene therapy

 

Dr. Ismail Ismail iismail@ualberta.ca

Targeting the DNA damage response in B cell malignancies

 

Dr. Piyush Kumar pkumar@ualberta.ca

Development of Molecular Theranostic (Therapy+Diagnostic) Agents For Cancer Diseases

 

Dr. John Lewis jdlewis@ualberta.ca

Translational prostate cancer research; nanoparticles, novel therapeutics, in vivo imaging

 

 

Dr. David Murray dmurray@ualberta.ca

DNA repair in the response to anti-cancer agents; prediction of patient response to therapy

 

Dr. Manijeh Pasdar manijeh.pasdar@ualberta.ca

Molecular mechanisms of adhesion-mediated signaling during cell growth and oncogenesis

 

Dr. Lynne Postovit postovit@ualberta.ca

Adjunct Professor

Environmental control of normal and cancer stem cell plasticity

 

Dr. Wilson Roa wroa@ualberta.ca

Nono-carrier platforms for therapeutic applications; image guided radiotherapy

 

Dr. Michael Sawyer msawyer@ualberta.ca

Cell biology, cell signaling and cancer, drug transporters

 

Dr. Ralf Schirrmacher schirrma@ualberta.ca

Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry, development of PET imaging agents for neuro- and cancer imaging, medicinal chemistry and drug development

 

 

Dr. Jack Tuszynski jackt@ualberta.ca

Adjunct Professor

Computational biophysics; rational drug design; pharmacokinetics

 

Dr. Alan Underhill alan.underhill@ualberta.ca

Transcription factors in melanoma; gene regulation & epigenetics

 

Dr. Michael Weinfeld mweinfel@ualberta.ca

Detection and repair of DNA damage

 

Dr. Frank Wuest wuest@ualberta.ca

Probe development for molecular imaging of cancer