Awards and Scholarships

Roy Hibbs and AGU Travel Awards

Deadline: 3pm on Friday, March 20, 2020

There are two competitions each year: one in Spring and one in Fall.

The competition for Student Conference Travel Awards is open to graduate students whose supervisors are members of the Institute of Geophysical Research. These awards are made possible through an endowment in memory of Dr. Roy Dean Hibbs and a donation from the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

Applicants to the Spring and Fall competitions must also give a talk at the corresponding Graduate Student Symposium. Students must compile the following:

  • a completed application form (download the form from the top-right corner of this page);
  • the abstract of the paper to be presented at the conference;
  • a letter of support from supervisor in a sealed envelope; and
  • a short (approximately 2-page) curriculum vitae.

These materials should be put together in an envelope with "IGR Travel Award" and the applicant's name written clearly on the front. The package must be received in the mailbox of Claire Currie, IGR Director, Department of Physics, no later than the deadline.

Apply for the Hibbs/AGU Conference Travel Award

Congratulations go out to the winners of the Spring 2019 competition:

  • Cedar Hanneson
  • Shuo Li
  • Tai-Chieh Yu

Roy Dean Hibbs Memorial Graduate Scholarship

Deadline: Friday, March 20, 2020

This scholarship, bequeathed in the memory of Dr. Roy Dean Hibbs, is open to students enrolled full-time in a graduate degree program under the supervision of a Faculty Member of the Institute for Geophysical Research. Recipients will be chosen on the basis of strong academic performance with an emphasis on research accomplishments at the University of Alberta.

The application materials include:

  • a completed application form (download from top right corner of this page);
  • a description of research;
  • undergraduate and graduate transcripts;
  • a letter of reference; and
  • a short C.V. including academic presentations and publications.

Apply for the Hibbs Graduate Scholarship

Congratulations go out to the winners of the 2019 competition:

  • Fernanda Carozzi
  • Darcy Cordell
  • Kelly Hokanson
  • Ujjwal Tiwari
  • Jon Toma

About Dr. Roy Dean Hibbs

Dr. Roy Dean Hibbs was a geophysics graduate student in the Department of Physics from 1970 to 1977. He received an MSc in 1972 and a PhD in 1977. His research was in electromagnetic induction in the Earth, and his numerical studies of source effects in two- and three-dimensional problems provided an important early contribution in that field. After graduating from the University of Alberta, Dr. Hibbs held a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Alberta, and then held a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Victoria. Subsequently, he worked in the petroleum industry on projects in Canada, the United States and Libya. Dr. Hibbs died in a tragic plane crash in Libya in January 2000.

Thanks to a generous bequest on behalf of his family, top-performing graduate students of members of the Institute for Geophysical Research are annually awarded a scholarship in memory of Dr. Hibbs. The Dr. Roy Dean Hibbs Memorial Graduate Scholarship competition takes place annually in the spring. Also in his memory, several graduate students are also given Travel Awards to help offset the cost of travel to national and international conferences. The Student Conference Travel Award competition takes place bi-annually, in Fall and Spring.