IGR Graduate Symposium

Photos from the 2015 IGR Graduate Symposium. Collage: Bruce Sutherland.


Each year, the Institute of Geophysical Research hosts a graduate symposium during the Fall Term. In each session of the symposium, students will give 12-minute, conference-style talks, followed by 2 minutes for questions and 1 minute for change-over. An award will be given for the best talk following the symposium.

The next IGR Graduate Symposium will take place from 2pm to 5pm on Monday, October 30 in CCIS L1–047.


Registration deadline is Wednesday, October 25, 2017.

Registration will be done by entering information on the linked Google form. On this form you will be asked to provide the following information: 

  • Your First and Last Name
  • Your Supervisor's Last Name
  • Your Department
  • Your present degree and year in the program (e.g., 1st year MSc, 3rd year PhD, Research Associate, etc)
  • Talk Title
  • State whether you have also applied for a Student Conference Travel Award
  • If you have course or TA commitments on the afternoon of the symposium, specify the times when you cannot speak.
Remember that the audience of the IGR has a broad background. Please avoid the use of acronyms or jargon in the title. Likewise, prepare the talk so at least the first third can be understood by the whole audience.

Note that all Spring and Fall applicants and recipients of the Dr. Roy Dean Hibbs Travel Awards are obliged to give a presentation as a condition of their award.


The schedule will be strictly adhered to with a system that is used in many large conferences like the AGU and APS General Assemblies. On one side of the room will be a television screen acting as a countdown clock:

  • It will be yellow when there are less than 2 minutes remaining in the talk.
  • The screen then turns red and counts down 2 minutes during questions.
  • Finally, the screen turns black and counts down 1 minute until the start of the next talk.

The Graduate Student Symposium is generously sponsored by the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA).

The Best Presentation award is based on audience engagement and the clarity of slides and speech. The Fall 2016 prize was given to Anja Rutishauser for her talk, "Characterizing near-surface firn from airborne radio-echo sounding measurements".