Past Deans

Shanthi Johnson, PhD, RD, FDC, FACSM, FGSA 

Dean | July 2018 - June 2023

Shanthi Johnson first started in the School of Public Health as Dean and Professor, with previous roles as Associate Dean at the Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies at the University of Regina and as a Professor at the School of Nutrition at Acadia University. She is a Fulbright Scholar in the US, an Endeavour Executive Fellow in Australia, a DAAD Scholar in Germany, a GIAN visiting professor in India and an Understanding China fellow. She has been awarded fellowships with the Dietitians of Canada, the American College of Sports Medicine and the Gerontological Society of America. 

Kue Young, CM, MD, FRCPC, DPhil, FCAHS 

Dean | August 2013 - June 2018

A graduate of McGill University, the University of Toronto and the University of Oxford, Kue Young came to the University of Alberta from the University of Toronto where he was TransCanada Chair in Aboriginal Health. He also served as head of the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Prior to his academic career, he worked as a primary care physician and public health administrator in Canada and Tanzania. His awards include Senior Investigator of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and Member of the Order of Canada. 

Sylvie Stachenko, MD, MSc, FCFP 

Dean | January 2009 - May 2011

Prior to serving as dean, Sylvie Stachenko was deputy chief public health officer of Canada for the Public Health Agency of Canada and director of the World Health Organization's (WHO) Collaborating Centre on Chronic Disease Policy. She brought to the position strong connections to national and international public health networks, vast experience in public health policy development, and a depth of knowledge in chronic disease prevention. 

Lory Laing, PhD 

Acting Dean | May - June 2011; Interim Dean | July 2011 - July 2013

Having joined the University of Alberta as assistant professor in 1976, Lory Laing served as professor and associate dean (education) prior to being appointed acting dean of the School of Public Health. As a social epidemiologist, her research focused on vulnerable populations in Canada and globally, including Uganda, Mongolia and Indigenous communities in Canada. She received Health Canada's Deputy Minister Award of Distinction in Innovation and Creativity in 2009. 

Roger Palmer, PhD 

Interim Dean | March 2006 - December 2008

A graduate of the University of London, Cambridge University and the University of Alberta, Roger Palmer became interim dean of the School of Public Health upon its inception by the University of Alberta. Previously, he had served as deputy minister in three departments of the Government of Alberta. His awards include the IPAC 2004 Lieutenant Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Administration, the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal and the Alberta Centennial Medal.