Acknowledgment of Traditional Territory

The University of Alberta is home to a diverse and welcoming community of over 1,000 Aboriginal students from across the country, and Edmonton has the second-largest Aboriginal population of any city in Canada. We celebrate our Aboriginal heritage, including the ancestral lands on which our university is located today, and we are proud to be the only university in Canada with a Faculty of Native Studies.

To acknowledge the traditional territory is to recognize its longer history, reaching beyond colonization and the establishment of European colonies, as well as its significance for the Indigenous peoples who lived and continue to live upon this territory, and whose practices and spiritualities were tied to the land and continue to develop in relationship to the land and its other inhabitants today.

The following statements acknowledge traditional territory on which the University of Alberta resides. All U of A conferences and public events held on campus are opened with one of these acknowledgments, and they may be included as part of written U of A documents such as websites, brochures or papers. Professors may also wish to use them during the first class of the semester as a sign of respect, to acknowledge the rich history of these lands.


Revised Statements of Traditional Territorial Acknowledgement

"The University of Alberta respectfully acknowledges that we are situated on Treaty 6 territory, traditional lands of First Nations and Métis people."

"The University of Alberta acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 6 territory, and respects the histories, languages, and cultures of First Nations, Metis, Inuit, and all First Peoples of Canada, whose presence continues to enrich our vibrant community."

“The University of Alberta respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 6 territory, a traditional gathering place for diverse Indigenous peoples including the Cree, Blackfoot, Metis, Nakota Sioux, Iroquois, Dene, Ojibway/ Saulteaux/Anishinaabe, Inuit, and many others whose histories, languages, and cultures continue to influence our vibrant community.”

Other statements of territorial acknowledgement can also be used at the discretion of individuals and units. The statements were developed through the Provost Office in a broader consultation process with the Council on Aboriginal Initiatives, Town Halls and review by Indigenous faculty and staff.

When using the statements in print documents do not add any graphic elements or icons. The statements should appear in text form only.

For more information, or for French versions of the Territorial Statements, please visit: