This overview of the University of Alberta expands on the basic boilerplate statement, but is still concise enough to use as a one-page handout. The language should not be altered.


University of Alberta

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada


Founded in 1908 (created by legislation in 1906, first classes held in 1908)

President and Vice-Chancellor: Bill Flanagan

Provost and Vice-President (Academic): Steven Dew

Board of Governors Chair: Kate Chisholm

Chancellor: Peggy Garritty


39,094 total students

31,123 undergraduate students

7,971 graduate students


Faculties of the University of Alberta

Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences

Faculty of Arts

Augustana Campus (Camrose, Alberta)

Alberta School of Business

Campus Saint-Jean (francophone)

Faculty of Education (first in Canada)

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Extension

Faculty of Graduate Studies & Research

Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry

Faculty of Native Studies (only in Canada)

Faculty of Nursing

Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

School of Public Health (first in Canada)

Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (only in Canada)

Faculty of Science


The University of Alberta is one of Canada's most dynamic, internationally recognized post-secondary institutions, well known for the breadth, quality, and rigour of its undergraduate and graduate programs. Considered among the world's leading public research-intensive universities, this is one of Canada's top universities, with a reputation for excellence across the humanities, sciences, creative arts, business, engineering, and health sciences.

In particular, the U of A is internationally recognized as a world leader in diabetes research, energy and environment, virology, food security, nanotechnology, humanities computing, printmaking, artificial intelligence, family business research, carbohydrate chemistry, and circumpolar research.

The university is home to a number of concentrated efforts at addressing global challenges. Among these are the Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology; the Helmholtz-Alberta Initiative, a partnership with the German Helmholtz Association of Research Centres; and the Alberta Diabetes Institute. Scholars across the arts, humanities, and social sciences explore the big questions and the implications of expanding scientific boundaries.

Home to more than 39,000 students and 15,000 faculty and staff, the university has an annual budget of $1.9 billion and attracts more than $500 million in sponsored research revenue. The university offers close to 900 undergraduate, graduate, and professional programs in 18 faculties on five campuses-including one rural and one francophone campus. The university has more than 275,000 alumni worldwide.

Opened in 1908 as a board-governed public institution in a frontier town, the University of Alberta now finds itself situated in one of Canada's most dynamic cities, Edmonton. The vibrant capital of the province of Alberta is a city with one million residents, consistently ranked as one of Canada's most diverse and rapidly expanding economies.

The university's vision is to inspire the human spirit through outstanding achievements in learning, discovery, and citizenship in a creative community, building one of the world's great universities for the public good. The university and its people remain dedicated to the promise made in 1908 by founding president Henry Marshall Tory that knowledge shall be used for "uplifting the whole people."

The university's daring and innovative spirit inspires faculty and students to advance knowledge through research, seek innovation in teaching and learning, and find new ways to serve the people of Alberta, the nation, and the world.


Current as of July 1, 2020