UAlberta China Scholars

List of scholars at the U of A whose research and teaching involve China and China-related issues. Interested researchers, students and perspective students are welcome to contact them individually for further discussions.

Name Department Title Email
Nicola Cherry Preventive Medicine Professor nicola.cherry@ualberta.ca
Walter Davis Art and Design Associate Professor walter.davis@ualberta.ca
Jean DeBernardi Anthropology Professor jean.debernardi@ualberta.ca
Ryan Dunch History & Classics Professor ryan.dunch@ualberta.ca
Ashley Esarey Political Science Assistant Professor esarey@ualberta.ca
Daniel Fried East Asian Studies Associate Professor dfried@ualberta.ca
Gordon Houlden China Institute Director gordon.houlden@ualberta.ca
Reza Hasmath Political Science Professor hasmath@ualberta.ca
Clara Iwasaki East Asian Studies Assistant Professor ciwasaki@ualberta.ca
John Ives Anthropology Professor jack.ives@ualberta.ca
Jennifer Jay History & Classics Professor jennifer.jay@ualberta.ca
Hyuk-chan Kwon East Asian Studies Assistant Professor hyukchan@ualberta.ca
Andy Knight Political Science Professor andy.knight@ualberta.ca
Xiaoting Li East Asian Studies Assistant Professor xiaoting.li@ualberta.ca
Jenn-Shann Lin East Asian Studies Professor Emeritus jennlin@gpu.srv.ualberta.ca
Runjuan Liu Alberta School of Business Associate Professor runjuan.liu@ualberta.ca
Christopher Lupke East Asian Studies Chair & Professor lupke@ualberta.ca
John Newman Linguistics Professor john.newman@ualberta.ca
Frank Tough Native Studies Professor frank.tough@ualberta.ca
Martyn Unsworth Physics Professor martyn.unsworth@ualberta.ca
Gordon Walker Physical Education & Recreation Professor gordon.walker@ualberta.ca
Yingfeng Xu Economics Associate Professor yingfeng.xu@ualberta.ca
Teresa Zackodnik English and Film Studies Professor teresa.zackodnik@ualberta.ca
Dangzhi Zhao Library & Info Studies Associate Professor dangzhi.zhao@ualberta.ca
Li Zhou Economics Assistant Professor li.zhou@ualberta.ca
Guozhong Zhu Alberta School of Business Assistant Professor guozhong@ualberta.ca
List of scholars at the U of A whose research and teaching involve China and China-related issues. Interested researchers, students and perspective students are welcome to contact them individually for further discussions.

Name Department Title
Nicola Cherry Preventive Medicine Professor
Walter Davis Art & Design & East Asian Studies  Associate Professor & Chair
Jean DeBernardi Anthropology Professor
Ryan Dunch History & Classics Professor & Chair
Ashley Esarey Political Science Associate Professor
Daniel Fried East Asian Studies Associate Professor
Gordon Houlden China Institute Director Emeritus
Reza Hasmath Political Science Professor
Clara Iwasaki East Asian Studies Assistant Professpr
John Ives Anthropology Professor
Jennifer Jay History & Classics Professor
Hyuk-chan Kwon East Asian Studies Assistant Professor
Andy Knight Political Science Professor
Xiaoting Li East Asian Studies Associate Professor
Runjuan Liu Alberta School of Business Professor
Christopher Lupke East Asian Studies Professor
Frank Tough Native Studies Professor
Martyn Unsworth Faculty of Science - Physics Professor
Gordon Walker Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation Professor Emeritus
Yingfeng Xu Economics Associate Professor
Teresa Zackodnik English & Film Studies Professor
Dangzhi Zhao School of Library and Information Studies Associate Professor
Li Zhou Economics Assistant Professor
Guozhong Zhu Alberta School of Business Associate Professor