Linguistics

Faculty

This page lists our faculty members.  You will find information regarding other academics (adjuncts, lecturers, emeriti), administrative staff, graduate students and alumni on each of their corresponding pages.

Anja Arnhold
(PhD, Goethe-University, Frankfurt)

Assistant Professor
Prosody, phonology, phonetics, information structure, typology, Finnish, Inuit
Office: ASH 4-24 , (780) 492- 6912
E-mail: arnhold@ualberta.ca
Antti Arppe
(PhD, University of Helsinki)

Assistant Professor
Lexical semantics, corpus linguistics, statistical methods, exploiting multiple methods and sources of evidence.
Office:
ASH 4-44, (780) 492-1935
E-mail:
arppe@ualberta.ca
Harald Baayen
(PhD, Free University of Amsterdam)

Professor (based at Eberhard Karls University Tübingen)
Quantitative linguistics, lexical statistics, exploratory data analysis, stylometry, mixed-effects modeling, morphology and morphological processing.
E-mail: harald.baayen@gmail.com
David Beck
(PhD, University of Toronto)
Professor Associate Chair - Graduate Studies
Field linguistics, morphosyntax, typology, cognitive linguistics, areal diffusion, Native American languages, particularly Salishan and Totonacan.
Office:
ASH 4-63, (780) 492-0807
E-mail: 
dbeck@ualberta.ca
Graduate advising:
linggrad@ualberta.ca
Applications inquiries: 
lingapps@ualberta.ca
Marina Blekher
(PhD, University of Alberta)

Faculty Lecturer
Bilingualism, second language acquisition, psycholinguistics.
Office:
ASH 4-43, (780) 492-4970
E-mail: 
mblekher@ualberta.ca
Herbert L. Colston
(PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz)
Professor and Chair
Pragmatics, psycholinguistics, figurative language, language development, psychology of language.
Office: ASH 4-36A, (780) 492-5500
E-mail: colston@ualberta.ca
Evangelia Daskalaki
(PhD, University of Cambridge)
Assistant Professor
Syntax, morphology, language typology, heritage languages, Greek, Salish
Office: ASH 4-61
E-mail: daskalak@ualberta.ca
Juhani Järvikivi
(PhD, University of Joensuu)
Professor
Psycholinguistics, situated language comprehension, child language processing, discourse relations, spoken language, morphological processing.
Office: ASH 4-55
Email: jarvikiv@ualberta.ca
Jordan Lachler
(PhD, University of New Mexico) 
Assistant Professor - CILLDI Director
Language documentation, language revitalization.
Office: 
ASH 4-46, (780) 248-1179
E-mail: 
lachler@ualberta.ca
Terry Nadasdi
(PhD, University of Toronto) 
Professor
Sociolinguistics, applied linguistics, Canadian French.
Office: ASH 4-26
E-mail: terry.nadasdi@ualberta.ca
Johanne Paradis
(PhD, McGill University) 
Professor
First, second, and bilingual language acquisition; specific language impairment in children.
Office:
ASH 4-57, (780) 492-0805
E-mail:
 johanne.paradis@ualberta.ca
Sally A. Rice
(PhD, UC San Diego)
Professor
Syntax/semantics, lexical semantics, cognitive linguistics, corpus linguistics, field linguistics, Athapaskan languages.
Office:
ASH 3-02A, (780) 492-0809
E-mail: 
sally.rice@ualberta.ca
Benjamin V. Tucker
(PhD, University of Arizona) 
Associate Professor & Associate Chair - Undergraduate
Phonetics, psycholinguistics, laboratory phonology, field linguistics, language documentation and revitalization.
Office: 
ASH 4-15, (780) 492-5952
E-mail: 
bvtucker@ualberta.ca
Undergraduate Advising: 
lingundergrad@ualberta.ca