Quick Facts

The Faculty of Nursing at the University of Alberta is one of the largest nursing education institutions in the country and unique as the only Canadian member of the National Hartford Centers for Gerontological Nursing Excellence. We are one of only a few Canadian institutions to offer a full-range of undergraduate and graduate programs.

Faculty of Nursing Viewbook 2024-2025


We currently have 50 tenure-track faculty members, 42 faculty lecturers, and approximately 97 sessional lecturers. In the 2016/17 fiscal year, our faculty members received 51 research grant awards and had 114 active research projects.

We have three funded research chairs:

Our faculty have won multiple teaching and research awards at the local, provincial and national level, including:

Our 2016/17 enrolment includes 1,321 undergraduate students (all programs), 48 Master of Nursing students and 66 doctoral students.


Our undergraduate programs include:

  • A Collaborative Undergraduate BScN Program involving a partnership with Northwestern Polytechnic (formerly Grande Prairie Regional College), Keyano College, and Red Deer Polytechnic (formerly Red Deer College) has operated since 1997.
  • An After Degree BScN Program that was initiated in Fall 2002.
  • A Bilingual BScN Nursing Program that was initiated in Fall 2004 and is offered in collaboration with Faculté Saint-Jean.
  • A Nursing Honors Program that is available for high-achieving undergraduate students.

Graduate Programs

  • We implemented the first Master of Nursing program in western Canada in 1975.
  • In 1991, we began the first fully-funded Nursing PhD program in Canada.
  • Our faculty is among the first in the country to offer fully online PhD studies.