Philosophy

Faculty

This page lists our faculty members.  You will find information regarding other academics (adjuncts, lecturers, emeriti), administrative staff, graduate students and alumni on each of their corresponding pages.

Katalin Bimbo
PhD, Indiana University, Bloomington

Professor

Specialization:Logic (philosophical, mathematical, computational) and Foundations of Mathematics, Philosophy of Computer Science and Informatics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-69, (780) 492-3307
E-mail:bimbo@ualberta.ca
Website

Ingo Brigandt
PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Professor & Canada Research Chair in Philosophy of Biology

Specialization: Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Feminist Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-47, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: brigandt@ualberta.ca

Phil Corkum
PhD, University of California,
Los Angeles

Associate Professor

Specialization: Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-66, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: phil.corkum@ualberta.ca
Website

Neil Dalal
PhD, University of Texas, Austin

Associate Professor (Joint appointment: Philosophy and Religious Studies)

Specialization: Indian Philosophy, Advaita Vedanta, Yoga, Hinduism, History of Indian Religions.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-68, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: ndalal@ualberta.ca
Kathrin Koslicki
PhD, MIT

Professor & Canada Research Chair in Epistemology and Metaphysics

Specialization:
Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (esp. Aristotle), Philosophy of Language.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-51, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: kathrin.koslicki{at}ualberta.ca
Website

Marie-Eve Morin
Dr. Phil, Albert-Ludwigs Universität Freiburg

Professor & Chair, Department of Philosophy

Specialization: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Post-Structuralism, Deconstruction, Phenomenology, Existentialism, Structuralism, Philosophy of Literature.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-55, (780) 492-0616
E-mail: mmorin1@ualberta.ca

Howard Nye
PhD, University of Michigan

 Associate Professor & Associate Chair - Undergraduate Studies, and Honors Advisor

Specialization: Metaethics, Moral Psychology, Normative Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Applied Ethics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-59, (780) 492-8554
E-mail: hnye@ualberta.ca
Office hours: Thursday1 pm to 3 pm and by appointment

Geoffrey Rockwell
PhD, University of Toronto

Professor (Joint appointment : Philosophy and Humanities Computing)

Specialization: Humanities Computing, Text Analysis and Philosophy of Technology.
Office: 3-37 Arts & Convocation Hall, (780) 248-1209
E-mail: geoffrey.rockwell@ualberta.ca.  Blog: theoreti.ca

Amy Schmitter
PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Professor

Specialization:History of Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Art, History of Metaphysics, History of the Emotions, Feminist Approaches to the History of Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-70, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: amy.schmitter@ualberta.ca

Jennifer Welchman
PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Professor & Associate Chair - Graduate Studies

Specialization:Ethics, History of Ethics, Environmental Ethics, Aesthetics
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-69, (780) 492-9030
E-mail:jennifer.welchman@ualberta.ca

Jack Zupko
PhD, Cornell University

Professor

Specialization: Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-63, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: zupko@ualberta.ca