Teaching, Research & Mentoring Awards

The Department of Political Science is committed to excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching and mentoring. The department is recognized nationally and internationally for its passionate commitment to student learning and training.

Royal Society of Canada Fellows

  • Andy Knight

Henry Marshall Tory Chair

Named for Henry Marshall Tory, the first President of the University, Tory Chairholders are outstanding individuals who by their presence will enhance the reputation of the University. The Chairs are expected to: i) have made internationally recognized contributions in their fields; ii) bring to the University exceptional capabilities in scholarship, teaching, and creative activities; iii) be senior leaders at the University; and, iv) present a positive profile for research, scholarship, and creative activities both internally and externally. The Tory Chair program focuses primarily, but not exclusively, on disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and fine arts.

  • 2019: Cressida Heyes

McCalla Professor

The McCalla Professorships, named after the first Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research, Arthur Gilbert McCalla, provide faculty members with an opportunity to explore and implement strategies integrating their research and teaching. Recipients are outstanding academics who have made significant contributions to their field of research, teaching and learning.
  • 2020 - David Kahane 

The Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Instituted at the University of Alberta in 1982, the Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is the University's premier teaching award. Its purpose is to recognize teaching excellence publicly, to publicize such excellence to the University and the wider community, to encourage the pursuit of such excellence, and to promote informed discussion of teaching and its improvement at the University of Alberta. Any full-time continuing academic staff member, who has completed a minimum of five years of teaching at the University of Alberta is eligible.

  • 2017: Catherine Kellogg

2021 Faculty of Arts Research Excellence Awards

The Arts Research Awards recognize outstanding contributions to research & creative work by faculty members in the Faculty of Arts. One award is given at each rank.

  • Full Professor - Reza Hasmath  

2021 David Easton Award

Cressida Heyes' 2020 book, Anaesthetics of Existence: Essays on Experience at the Edge (Duke University Press) won the 2021 David Easton Award from the Foundations of Political Theory section of the American Political Science Association, for a book that "broadens the horizons of contemporary political science by engaging issues of philosophical significance in political life through any of a variety of approaches in the social sciences and humanities.”