A strong and diverse research program is a defining feature of our academic community. Our outstanding faculty has research interests that span the traditional fields of political science and is distinguished by its specializations in Canadian and North American political economy, Indigenous politics and governance, China and East Asian Studies, European Politics, peace and post-conflict studies, Gender and Politics, environmental politics and policy, colonialism and decolonization, continental political and social theory, and contemporary critical theories (feminist, critical race, and queer), among other areas.

Our research excellence is exemplified by the many Research Chairs held by faculty members. The Department is currently home to Tier I Canada Research Chair (Political Economy and Social Governance) and Trudeau Fellow, Dr. Janine Brodie, FRSC, a Tier II Canada Research Chair (Philosophy of Gender and Sexuality), Dr. Cressida J. Heyes, and to a European Commission Jean Monnet Chair in European Politics held by Dr. Lori Thorlakson.