Lest We Forget

Remembrance Day

On November 11, we pause in honour of those who fought for Canada and in respect for our Canadian Troops. We are also proud to support our veterans through the Military and Veteran Friendly Campus program.

Remembering the fallen

As the Great War broke out in 1914, we had 439 students and staff at the University of Alberta. At war's end in 1918, 484 had served in the war effort as soldiers in the Canadian infantry, artillery and medical corps. Eighty-two of them did not return home. Lest we forget.

University of Alberta soldiers, Montreal, 1915. Illustration by Jordan Carson
Frederick Stanley Albright
John Crawford Anglin
Cyril Keith Aylen
Girtle Louis Baker
Herbert Joseph Ball
John Richard Barker
Francis Benedict Barnes
Harvey Taylor Beecroft
Percy Douglas Sinclair Broad
William Edward Lee Broad
Robert Thomas Campbell
John Bryson Cascaden
John Francis Costigan
Laurence Holtby Crawford
William Henry Davis
Arthur Wilbert Deitz
Henry Humphrey Dinning
Louis A. Dobry
Arthur William Donald
James Sherman Doze
Gregor Stuart Drummond
Albert G. Eakins
John Norris Eaton
Albert Ernest Exall
John Ogilvy Fairlie
Samuel Cranswick Ferguson
Gordon Stanley Fife
Maxwell Donald Fraser
Ralph Milton Gibson
Joseph Albert Gordon
Charles Alexander Grant
Pierre-Eugene Guay
John Ralph Hammond
Samuel Richard Hosford
Arthur M. Hummel
Angus Hutchinson
Daniel Robertson Knox
Charles Lane
George Masson Lavell
Victor Leese
William Roberts Lister
John William Gow Logan
Svienbjorn (Barney) Lopston
Roy Courtenay Lutz
John Macpherson
John Dalton Macwilliams
Ronald Hutton Martin
Edward Frederick W. Maunsell
Robert Norman McArthur
William Carey McKee
Lewis Stanley Mckeen
Locksley McKnight
Percy Byron McNally
John Donald McPherson
Alexander Robertson McQueen
Alva E. Metcalfe
Heber H. Moshier
Karl Fletcher Murray
Frank S. Occomore
John Parker
Ernest Howard Parsons
Frederick Arnott Perraton
Harold Gordon Riddell
Claude Wilson Ritson
Frederick William James Roberts
Alexander Glasgow Robertson
Albert Edward Frost Robinson
John Griffith Russell
Harold Arthur Skene
Robert Smith
Roy Clarke Steckley
Thomas Alexander Talbot
Howard Thomas Taylor
William James Taylor
Andrew Telfer
James Robertson Thompson
William Slater Turner
Emery James Van Petten
George Edmund Welbourne
Clement Beck Wilson
James Christian Lawrence Young
Percy Young

Statutory Holiday Notice

University buildings are closed Nov. 13 to observe the Remembrance Day statutory holiday.

See all Statutory Holidays + Closure information »

See Facilities + Building Hours »