Departments in the Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science comprises seven departments. Our faculty and staff include world leaders in research and scientific discoveries. Our faculty members are regularly listed among the top teachers of students. All of this contributes to a vibrant environment for learning and discovery of which we are justifiably proud.




Centres and institutes

The research environment in the Faculty of Science is enriched by superb research institutes and centres. Areas of research expertise include artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, geophysics, particle physics, space exploration, and more.

Faculty of Science rankings

If you are unsure of making the University of Alberta your first choice for graduate studies, visit our faculty rankings page to see how our departmental programs and degrees stack up against other institutions across the globe.