Our Team

ATUMS currently has 8 faculty members from the University of Alberta involved in the program. They are:

Chemistry Faculty:

  • Dr. Jonathan Veinot
  • Dr. Arthur Mar
  • Dr. Julianne Gibbs
  • Dr. Jillian Buriak
  • Dr. Vladmir Michaelis

Physics Faculty:

  • Dr. Frank Hegmann
  • Dr. Al Meldrum

Engineering Faculty:

  • Dr. Karthik Shankar


The ATUMS Program currently has 33 students involved:

21 are in Chemistry, 7 are in Physics, and 5 are in Engineering.


ATUMS group in Canmore, AB

ATUMS Annual Meeting in Canmore, AB Nov. 10-15, 2019.