Faculty Search: Co-Chair (Art Therapy), Department of Psychotherapy and Spirituality

The Board of Governors of St. Stephen’s College is pleased to announce an open search for a Co-Chair (Art Therapy) in our Department of Psychotherapy and Spirituality. The position is available for 1 January 2022, or sooner if possible. The deadline for application is 15 June 2021.

The appointee will be a clinician-scholar, teacher, and mentor who is committed to the training of masters-level clinicians in the fields of psychotherapy, counselling, art therapy, and spiritual care. The successful candidate will have a graduate degree in Art Therapy and minimum five years of professional experience in the field. Completion of a doctoral degree is preferred but not required.

Further details about the position, including instructions on how to apply, are available on our website. Inquiries can be sent to Fred Tappenden, Principal and Dean of St. Stephen’s College.

Nestled on the main campus of the University of Alberta, St. Stephen’s College seeks “to be a multifaith community that offers sacred spaces for learning and transformation.” The roots of St. Stephen’s reach back to 1903; the College has been affiliated with the University of Alberta since its founding in 1908 and with the United Church of Canada since its founding in 1925. A legislative Act to Incorporate St. Stephen’s College (April 27, 1927; amended 1968) authorizes St. Stephen’s to confer degrees in divinity. Currently, the College offers divinity degrees in Theological Studies, Psychotherapy and Spirituality, Art Therapy, and Spiritual Care. St. Stephen's is an Associate Member of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada (ATS), and is actively working toward full membership and accreditation with ATS. Our Art Therapy programs meet the educational standards of the Canadian Art Therapy Association (CATA). St. Stephen’s College is committed to fostering a diverse and inclusive workspace. We welcome and encourage applications from all interested candidates, and do not discriminate on the basis of ethnicity, religion, gender identity, or sexual orientation. Applications from historically underrepresented groups are encouraged.