2019 Celebration of Excellence in the Faculty of Arts

    Faculty, staff and students recognized for their achievements at the annual Faculty of Arts Awards Night

    By Donna McKinnon on May 16, 2019

    Family, friends and colleagues joined the 83 (yeah, we're that good!) award winners at a dinner and celebration, hosted by Allen Ball, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning/Student Programs, and emceed by Salima Ebrahim ('00 BA, Political Science), Branch Manager for External and Intergovernmental Relations with the City of Edmonton - and one of Avenue Magazine's Top 40 Under 40!


    Roger S. Smith Undergraduate Researcher Award

    Matthew Ackman, Economics

    Tom Brown, Political Science

    Alexander Cheung, Economics

    Emily Clink, History and Classics

    Selina Ertman, Anthropology

    Samuel Goertz, Political Science

    Jasmine Hafso, History and Classics

    Ramanjot Kalher, Psychology

    Isabelle MacDonald, Anthropology

    McKae Pawlenchuk, Linguistics


    Cécile E. Mactaggart Travel Award for Narrative Writing
    Kirsten Thomas, English and Film Studies, for Pictured: Portrait of the Artist as an Exchange Student

    Amy Kaler, Sociology, for Leaving China


    Graduate Teaching Award
    Kevin Laxamana, Anthropology

    Andrew Lints, Anthropology

    Mirjana Uzelac, Anthropology

    Phoebe Todd-Parrish, Art & Design

    Nick Beauchesne, English and Film Studies                                                                          

    Amanda Daignault, English and Film Studies                      

    Meredith Snyder, English and Film Studies          

    Shannon Blanchet, Drama

    Tonya Chrystian, Drama

    James White, History and Classics

    Richard Feddersen, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

    Peter Andes, Philosophy

    Ka Ho Lam, Philosophy

    Daisy Raphael, Political Science

    Brenna Zatto, Psychology

    Doris Zhang, Psychology

    Esther Rosario, Women’s and Gender Studies


    Contract Instructor Teaching Award
    Kuo-Chan Sun, East Asian Studies

    Randi Nixon, Sociology

    Kristine Smitka, English and Film Studies


    Undergraduate Teaching Award (Early Achievement)
    Anja Arnhold
    , Linguistics

    Selena Couture, Drama

    Michael Litwack, English and Film Studies


    Kathleen W. Klawe Prize for Excellence in Teaching Large Classes
    Lech Lebiedowski, History and Classics


    Undergraduate Teaching Award
    Sandra Bucerius, Sociology

    Jennie Dailey-O’Cain, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

    Lin Snelling, Drama


    Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentorship
    Piet Defraeye, Drama


    Research Excellence Award

    Assistant Professor: David Brown, Economics

    Associate Professor: Kisha Supernant, Anthropology

    Professor: Astrid Ensslin, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies


    Outstanding Student Service Award

    Laura Kerslake, Undergraduate Student Services

    Amber Nicholson, Undergraduate Student Services


    Outstanding Staff Award
    Sylvia Currie, Office of the Dean

    Ceilidh Morrissette, Office of Interdisciplinary Studies


    Administrative Leadership Award

    Barb Baker, Office of Interdisciplinary Studies/History and Classics

    Eva Glancy, Modern Languages & Cultural Studies


    Great Supervisor Award (Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research)
    Xiaoting Li, East Asian Studies

    Anne Malena, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

    Keavy Martin, English and Film Studies

    Pamela Mayne Correia, Anthropology

    Kimberly Noels, Psychology

    Mariléne Oliver, Art & Design

    Joanne Paradis, Linguistics

    Sathya Rao, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies

    Jeremy Rossiter, History and Classics

    Jan Selman, Drama

    Rob Shields, Sociology and MACT

    Chloe Taylor, Women’s and Gender Studies





    University of Alberta Community Connections - Community Leader Award
    Lisa Prins, Humanities 101


    University of Alberta IST - Information Technology Excellence Award
    Jeff Antoniuk, English and Film Studies


    University of Alberta Support Staff Recognition Award
    Kathleen Berto, Art & Design


    University of Alberta Excellence in Leadership Award
    Stan Szynkowski. Art & Design (awarded posthumously)


    William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

    Alexander Gainer, Economics

    Rachel Prusko, English and Film Studies


    Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

    Greg Anderson, Political Science

    David Kennedy, Drama

    Martha Cook Piper Research Prize

    Kisha Supernant, Anthropology


    Killam Annual Professorship

    David Beck, Linguistics


    McCalla Professorship

    Lin Snelling, Drama


    Henry Marshall Tory Chair

    Cressida Heyes, Political Science




    Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship

    Rezvaneh Erfani Hossein Pour, Sociology

    William Schultz, Sociology

    Uchechukwu Umezurike, English and Film Studies


    Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Scholarship

    Billy-Ray Belcourt, English and Film Studies

    William Schultz, Sociology


    SSHRC Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship

    Julia Smith, Sociology


    Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellowship

    Malinda S. Smith, Political Science

    The Royal Society of Canada - College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
    Dominique Clément, Sociology


    Canada Research Chair in Politics of Citizenship and Human Rights

    Yasmeen Abu-Laben, Political Science

    Canada 150 Research Chair

    Deb Verhoeven, Women’s and Gender Studies/Digital Humanities


    Congratulations and THANK YOU to all our amazing award recipients! Check out our Facebook Photo Album HERE.