Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs (CRCs) are awarded by the Canadian government to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds. They recognize outstanding researchers who are acknowledged by their peers as current or emerging world leaders in their fields, and are tenable for either five years (Tier 2 CRCs) or seven years (Tier 1 CRCs).

Current Tier 1 CRCs:

Shirley Anne Tate (Sociology)
Feminism & Intersectionality

Yasmeen Abu-Laban (Political Science)
The Politics of Citizenship & Human Rights

Kevin Haggerty (Sociology)
Canada Research Chair in Surveillance Ecologies

Current Tier 2 CRCs:


Isabel Altamirano-Jimenez (Political Science)
Canada Research Chair in Comparative Indigenous Feminist Studies

Gavin Renwick (Art & Design)
Canada Research Chair in Design Studies

Ingo Brigandt (Philosophy)
Canada Research Chair in the Philosophy of Biology

Joshua St. Pierre (Political Science)
Canada Research Chair in Critical Disability Studies

David Brown (Economics)
Energy, Economics and Policy

Canada 150 Research Chair

Canada 150 Research Chairs provide Canadian institutions with a one-time investment to attract top-tier, internationally based scholars and researchers to Canada.

Deb Verhoeven (Women's and Gender Studies; Digital Humanities) -- Dr. Verhoeven's research uses feminist, intersectional analyses of databases and digital archives to reveal how the informational relationships between cultural objects in collected records matter more than the objects themselves.


Henry Marshall Tory Chairs

Named for the first president of the University, the Tory Chairs are awarded to outstanding individuals who will enhance the reputation of the University and provide leadership and experience in teaching and research across disciplines.

Sandra Bucerius (Sociology) Dr. Bucerius’ research focuses on understanding criminal justice institutions through the perspectives of both those who work in them and those who encounter them, particularly those marginalized by factors related to race, gender, social class, and addictions.

George Pavlich (Sociology) -- Dr. Pavilich brings an innovative and deeply ethical perspective to the crisis in the Canadian and international criminal justice system, illuminating the origins of the systemic inequities while providing insight into the challenges that lay ahead.

Julie Rak (English and Film Studies) -- Dr. Rak's primary areas of research include auto/biography and life writing, popular culture and North American Literature.

Cressida Heyes (Political Science) -- Dr. Heyes' has made a significant and lasting impact on the fields of feminist philosophy, social and political philosophy, phenomenology and feminist Foucault studies.

Beverly Lemire (History & Classics) -- Dr. Lemire's research is focused on the advent of the first industrial era in Britain from 1600 to 1900. She uses economic, social and gender analyses to study the changing material world within a comparative perspective.

Mark Nuttall (Anthropology) -- Dr. Nuttall is a social anthropologist who works on the human dimensions of global environmental and sustainability issues. Concentrating on the Arctic and North Atlantic, he studies environmental change and resource use issues in rural and coastal communities, depopulation and migration, climate change impacts on indigenous peoples and their livelihoods, the anthropology of science and historical ecology.

Rob Shields (Sociology, Art & Design) -- Dr. Shield'sresearch focuses on social theory and cultural studies. He studies urban and regional design, social space, visual culture, youth, internet and virtual environments, and European and post-modern sociological theory.

Sarah Carter (History & Classics) -- Dr. Carter studies the history of Western Canada during the critical era that began in the late 19th century when Aboriginal people were dispossessed and a new population established.


Landrex Distinguished Professorship

The Landrex Professorship provides a professor in the Faculty of Arts with $50,000 annually for five years, giving them the opportunity to expand their research while contributing to the community.

2018 - 2023 - Lise Gotell (Women's and Gender Studies) -- Dr. Gotell a leading expert in sexual consent law in Canada. Her research addresses the justice gap experienced by survivors of sexual assault in Alberta.

2012 - 2017 - John W. (Jack) Ives (Anthropology) -- Dr. Ives is an archaeologist interested kinship,economy, and social organization, prehistoric migrations, and public forms of archaeology ranging from regulatory processes and First Nations cultural landscapes to repatriation.

2007 - 2011 - Sally Rice (Linguistics) -- Dr. Rice has dedicated much of her career to working with local Aboriginal communities whose languages are in danger of disappearing within generations.

2004 - 2006 - Harvey Krahn (Sociology) -- Dr. Krahn's main area of research is the sociology of work and education. He also conducts research in the areas of immigration, sustainable consumption and political attitudes and behaviours.


UAlberta Centennial University Professor of Fine Arts

The designation of Centennial Professor is among the most prestigious of honours at the University of Alberta and is bestowed on members of the academy who have achieved outstanding distinction in their area of research and scholarship, teaching and who have earned favourable regard from the community.

Sean Caulfield (Art and Design) -- Dr. Caulfield creates poetry for the eyes. Whether silkscreens, etchings or woodcuts, his prints explore a visual language of contradictions and tensions: from figurative to abstract, and high art to mass media.