Teaching Excellence in the Faculty of Arts

University Cup

The highest honour this University can bestow on a member of its academic staff, granted only to those individuals who have achieved outstanding distinction in each of the areas of scholarly research, teaching, service to the University, and service to the community at large.

2018: Janine Brodie (Political Science)
2016: Harvey Krahn (Sociology)
2011: Liz Ingram (Art & Design)
2008: David Marples (History and Classics)
2005: Patricia Demers (English and Film Studies)
2002: Susan McDaniel (Sociology)
2000: Isobel Grundy (English and Film Studies)
1996: Juliet McMaster (English and Film Studies)

Killam Annual Professorships

Based on scholarly activities such as teaching, research, publications, creative activities, presented papers, supervision of graduate students and courses taught, as well as service to the community beyond the university.

2018: Julie Rak (English and Film Studies)
2017: Lianne McTavish (Art & Design)
2016: John Considine (English and Film Studies)
2014: Kevin Haggerty (Sociology)
2013: Yasmeen Abu-Laban (Political Science) and Imre Szeman (English and Film Studies)
2011: Kevin Haggerty (Sociology) and Robert Smith (History and Classics)
2008: Ehud Ben Zvi (History and Classics, Religious Studies)
2007: George Pavlich (Sociology)
2005: David Marples (History and Classics)
2003: Helena Fracchia (History and Classics)
2002: William Beard (Comparative Literature)

McCalla Professorships

Awarded to professors who value excellence in teaching, acknowledge the importance of students, conduct themselves in an ethical manner, are collaborative, open to change, take pride in history and traditions and are committed to integrating their research and teaching.

2018: Jana Grekul (Sociology)
2017: Michael O'Driscoll (English and Film Studies)
2016: Wendy Hoglund (Psychology)
2015: Catherine Kellogg (Political Science)
2014: Yasmeen Abu-Laban (Political Science)
2013: Margriet Haagsma (History and Classics)
2012: Nora Stovel (English and Film Studies)
2011: Frances Pownall (History and Classics); Susan Smith (History and Classics)
2010: Linda Trimble (Political Science)
2009: Gary Kelly (English and Film Studies), Christopher Fletcher (Anthropology)
2008: Sally Rice (Linguistics), Jennifer Welchman (Philosophy)
2007: Dianne Chisholm (English and Film Studies), Michael Dawson (Psychology)
2006: Jane Samson (History and Classics), Allen Carlson (Philosophy), Yasmeen Abu-Laban (Political Science)

Distinguished University Professors

A title awarded by the University to members of its academic staff who have achieved outstanding distinction in each of the areas of research and scholarship, teaching and service to the university and the community at large.

2011: Janine Brodie (Political Science)
2009: Liz Ingram (Art & Design)


Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

2018: Natalie Van Deusen (Modern Languages and Cultural Studies)
2016: Kisha Supernant (Anthropology)
2014: Micah True (Modern Languages and Cultural Studies)
2013: Carrie Smith-Prei (Modern Languages and Cultural Studies)

Rutherford Award for Teaching Excellence

Recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching by full-time continuing academic staff.

2018: Jana Grekul (Sociology); Angela Schroeder (Music)
2017: Odile Cisneros (Modern Languages and Cultural Studies); Catherine Kellogg (Political Science)
2014: Sandra Nicholls (Drama); Dennis Sweeney (History and Classics)
2011: Janet Scot Hoyt (Music); Lise Gotell (Women's and Gender Studies)
2010: Stuart Landon (Economics); Connie Varnhagen (Psychology)
2009: Bert Almon (English and Film Studies); Elizabeth Moulton (Drama); David Whitson (Political Science)
2008: Cressida Heyes (Philosophy)
2007: David Barnet (Drama)
2006: John-Paul Himka (History and Classics)

William Alexander Hardy Award

Recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching.

2018: Laura Schechter (English and Film Studies)
2017: Lucinda Rasmussen (English and Film Studies)
2016: Marie Nychka (Drama)
2015: Yumi Siebens (East Asian Studies)
2014: Juniad Jahangir (Economics), Royden Mills (Art & Design), Cristina Stasia (Women's and Gender Studies)
2009: Melissa Jacques (English and Film Studies)
2008: Mark Blythe (Political Science); Robyn Fowler (English and Film Studies)
2006: Janet Wesselius (Philosophy); Philip Mingay (English and Film Studies)
2004: Jan Henderson (Drama)

Students' Union Award for Leadership in Undergraduate Teaching (SALUTE)

Promotes excellence in teaching, based on student nominations and adjudication.

2018: Richard Westerman (Sociology)
2017: Hansy Herrera (Modern Languages and Cultural Studies)
2015: Elena Nicoladis (Psychology); Kelly McFarlane (History and Classics)
2012: Aidan Rowe (Art & Design)
2010: Douglas Wardell (Psychology)
2009: Lise Gotell (Women's Studies)