Faculty of Arts Celebrates Fifteen Teaching, Learning and Research Award Winners

Arts Community recognizes and celebrates the achievements of students, faculty, and staff with annual awards celebration

Marcie Whitecotton - 31 March 2021

Each year, the Faculty of Arts honours our exceptional students, faculty and staff at our Celebration of Excellence.  

In most years, we all gather together in the spring to recognize the contributions of our award winners and the incredible work that our entire community does to make the Faculty of Arts a world-class place to learn, teach, and conduct research. While 2020 prevented us from celebrating in person, the Faculty of Arts is pleased to celebrate both our 2020 and 2021 award winners virtually, and will do so in May at a virtual ceremony.

At that time, we will be honouring those that have won Arts specific awards. We would also like to take this opportunity to recognize all our other great award winners. Below is a list of winners of significant University awards and other nationally recognized achievements that we would usually include in the Celebration of Excellence in the Faculty of Arts.

See the full list of 2020 recipients here. Faculty of Arts recipients include:

  • Sandra Bucerius, Sociology, Henry Marshall Tory Chair
  • Sarah Carter, History and Classics, Killam Prize
  • Heather Coleman, History and Classics, Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
  • Harvey Friebe, Anthropology, Support Staff Research Enhancement Award
  • Stacey Haugen, Political Science, BMO Financial Group Graduate Scholarship
  • Andy Knight, Political Science, University of Alberta Distinguished Professor
  • David Kahane, Political Science, McCalla Professorship
  • Natalie Loveless, Art and Design, Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
  • Fern Middleton, Chancellor's Entrance Citation
  • George Pavlich, Sociology, Henry Marshall Tory Chair
  • Julie Rak, English and Film Studies, Henry Marshall Tory Chair
  • Elizabeth Sawchuk, Anthropology, Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • Lin Snelling, Drama, Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Kuo-Chan Sun, East Asian Studies, William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Colin Tran, Chancellor's Entrance Citation