Honour Roll — Fall 2023

Congratulations to the following Education faculty members and students who have achieved distinction and have recently been acknowledged for their impactful work, both within and beyond the academic community.

31 October 2023

Congratulations and heartfelt thanks to the faculty, staff and students in the Faculty of Education whose transformative teaching, research and service are reflected in its significant rise in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings By Subject and its continued placement in the top three faculties of education in Canada in the Maclean’s Magazine University Rankings!

Congratulations to Dr. Cindy Blackstock, Executive Director of the First Nations Children's Action and Research and Education Service (FNCARES), on being awarded the 2023 World Children's Prize for her role in the collective efforts to end discrimination against First Nations children! 

Congratulations to educational psychology professor Dr. Okan Bulut on receiving the Martha Cook Piper Research Prize! This award commemorates Dr. Piper’s significant contribution to the research community while VicePresident (Research) and Vice-President (Research and External Affairs) from 1993-1997. Two awards are presented annually to faculty members in the early stage of their careers who enjoy a reputation for original research and show outstanding promise as researchers in distinct fields of research.

Congratulations to Dr. Carla Peck on being appointed to the Elections Canada Advisory Circle of Educators for a three-year term.

The Advisory Circle of Educators is mandated to provide advice on future directions for the agency's program in civic education based on their specific education landscape and regional audiences; on specific educational resources and initiatives; and on best ways to ensure uptake by educators and key stakeholders across the country.

Further congratulations to Dr. Peck on receiving the Outstanding Achievement Award from the Children's Identity & Citizenship European Association (CiCea) at the 24th Annual CiCea International Conference. CiCea is a group of academics from across Europe focused on citizenship education and identity formation in young people in Europe and the world. 

Congratulations to educational psychology professor Dr. Sharla King on receiving an honorary Bachelor of Technology degree from the Northern Albert Institute of Technology (NAIT) for her contributions to interprofessional health care education in Alberta!

Congratulations to Education’s 2023 Killam laureates

Elementary education professor Dr. Doug Gleddie has received this year's Killam Award for Excellence in Mentoring. This award recognizes academic staff members at the U of A who have demonstrated outstanding performance in mentoring summer research students, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and visiting research scholars. 

Annette Wentworth and Stephanie Schuurman-Olson have received the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship, awarded to doctoral students with first-class academic standing who are likely to contribute to the advancement of learning and earn distinction in their profession.

Congratulations to educational psychology and counselling psychology professors Dr. Lia Daniels and Dr. Jessica Van Vliet, who have been recognized by the 2023 Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) Awards!

Dr. Daniels has been elected as a CPA Fellow, one of the highest honours bestowed on a psychologist at the national level, for distinguished contributions to the advancement of the science or profession of psychology.

Dr. Van Vliet has been named a Distinguished Member in the Counselling Psychology section of the CPA. The award is intended to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the field as a practitioner or as a researcher. 

Faculty appointments

Dr. Joanne Weber has been appointed to a five-year term as director of the Western Canadian Centre for Deaf Studies, commencing July 1, 2023. 

Dr. Weber is a Canada Research Chair (Tier 2) in Deaf Education and an assistant professor of educational psychology. Her research interests include language and literacy education, arts-based literacy interventions, arts-based research, arts education, posthumanism, and applied sign language studies. She is a leader in the deaf community at provincial and national levels, with a lifelong passion to improve the quality of education for deaf students. 

On June 1, Dr. Evelyn Steinhauer was appointed Associate Dean, Indigenous Teacher Education, a significant milestone for ATEP and the Faculty of Education. In this role, Dr. Steinhauer will build on her tremendous leadership as ATEP Director, continuing to work alongside Indigenous communities, and representing the Faculty of Education locally, provincially and nationally on matters related to Indigenous Teacher Education. 

Dr. Jonathan Dubue has joined the team that operates the Faculty’s community psychology clinic, Clinical Services! As a Clinical Supervisor, he will be supervising Counselling Psychology and School, Child, and Clinical Psychology master's and doctoral students in their training, while supporting clinic operations and research. Dubue completed his BSc (hons), MEd, and now PhD at the University of Alberta, and has volunteered with several U of A organizations.