Laboratory Medicine and Pathology

Laboratory technician analyzes biological samples using gel electrophoresis.
Laboratory technician analyzes biological samples using gel electrophoresis.

Welcome to the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology

The Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology serves as an academic Centre of Excellence in Medical Laboratory Sciences, Pathology, Environmental Health Sciences and Toxicology through excellence in education, research, and clinical service delivery in partnership with Alberta Precision Laboratories. The Department is made up of seven divisions and numerous specialty training programs. We offer five residency training programs, seven MD fellowship programs, four clinical PhD fellowship programs, a graduate studies program that also includes a Pathologists' Assistant Program, and a Medical Laboratory Science Undergraduate Program.

Programs + Education

Undergraduate Program - Medical Laboratory Science

Through the Division of Medical Laboratory Science, the Department offers a four-year professional degree program, in which students acquire General Certification from the Canadian Society for Medical Laboratory Science (CSMLS) and a BSc in Medical Laboratory Science (MLS).

Graduate Program

In our Graduate Program, students complete graduate courses and a research-based thesis, leading to an MSc or PhD in Medical Sciences. Because of the department's diverse research activities, students can pursue clinically focused research, translational research, or applied science research. We also offer a professional MSc degree program, the Pathologists' Assistant Program.

Postgraduate Medical Education - Residency Programs

We offer five accredited residency training programs (Anatomical Pathology, General Pathology, Forensic Pathology, Hematological Pathology, and Medical Microbiology). Trainees rotate through facilities throughout Edmonton, gaining wide exposure to all types of practices, and to the full breadth and volume of cases in the region.

We also offer postgraduate MD and PhD Fellowship programs.


April 26-27, 2024

DRIvE Days

During DRIvE days, we share our translational research and innovation with all individuals interested in Laboratory Services, Pathology and Diagnostics. In addition, numerous educational sessions and lectures presenting state-of-the-art knowledge in laboratory services is provided for Medical Laboratory Technologists, Laboratory Scientists, Laboratory Management, Physicians, and Trainees from across Alberta.

October 9-12, 2024

Banff Pathology Course

The Banff Pathology Course is a collaborative effort of the Canadian Association of Pathologists (CAP-ACP), Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, University of Alberta and the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Calgary to provide a continuing medical education activity for practicing pathologists, residents and pathologists' assistants.

  • Collaborative Clinical Services

    The department collaborates with various hospitals and institutions, including the Royal Alexandra, Misericordia and Grey Nuns Hospitals, and the Cross Cancer Institute. This collaboration provides clinical laboratory services across a broad range of disciplines, playing a crucial role in patient care and diagnostics throughout Alberta.

  • Diverse Research Initiatives

    The department is engaged in a wide array of research activities in fields like toxicology, immunology, microbiology, cancer, and cryobiology. This multidisciplinary work involves collaboration across various departments, demonstrating an innovative and inclusive research approach.

  • Dynamic Career Paths

    There are many career opportunities through comprehensive training in specialties like Hematology, Microbiology, and various Pathology subspecialties, leading to roles in both clinical practice and cutting-edge research.

Message from the Chair

Our department is comprised of a varied team, made up of laboratory professionals, faculty, clinical faculty, students, residents, post-doctoral scholars, research associates, and support staff. We are all united in our commitment to excellence in clinical laboratory services, education, and research.

We offer comprehensive educational programs, ranging from an undergraduate Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science, accredited with CSMLS certification, to a two-year Master of Science for Pathologist Assistants. Our department hosts over 40 graduate students engaged in varied research domains, often collaborating with other departments. Our residency and fellowship programs in specialties like Anatomical Pathology and Genetics, in partnership with Alberta Precision Laboratories, offer comprehensive, competency-based training across the Edmonton Zone.

The department's research endeavors, spanning both basic science and clinical aspects, are renowned both nationally and internationally. Faculty members are recognized for their contributions in fields such as allograft rejection, analytical and environmental toxicology, the pathogenesis of infectious diseases, molecular mechanisms of cancer, cryobiology, and tissue preservation. This diverse range of research interests highlights our commitment to advancing knowledge and improving healthcare outcomes.

Dr. Michael Mengel, MD
Professor and Chair
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, University of Alberta
North Sector Medical Director, Alberta Precision Laboratories

Headshot of Dr. Michael Mengel, MD, Laboratory Medicine department chair


Headshot of Dr. Jason Acker in front of laboratory equipment.

Congratulations to Dr. Jason Acker who has been elected as a Fellow in the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) for 2023. Election to Fellowship in the Academy is considered one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community and carries with it a covenant to serve the Academy and the future well-being of the health sciences irrespective of the Fellow’s specific discipline. “Becoming a member of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences recognizes Fellows’ dedication to health sciences,” says Dr. Marie-France Raynault, President, CAHS. Read more about Dr. Acker's achievement »