Message From The Dean

Welcome to the University of Alberta Faculty of Law! For more than a century, we have been providing students with an outstanding legal education.

Our alumni include the Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin (the former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada), the Honourable Justice Sheilah Martin of the Supreme Court of Canada, the Honourable Catherine Fraser (former Chief Justice of the Alberta Court of Appeal), numerous judges at all levels of Canadian courts, and thousands of legal practitioners and community leaders. I hope that the information contained on this website gives you a sense of both the rigour of our academic program and the collegiality that characterizes our Faculty.

Our academic program is built around a robust core curriculum designed to provide students with a broad-based legal education. It is delivered by exceptional instructors and strengthened by numerous and varied experiential learning opportunities. Many of our faculty members are nationally and internationally recognized experts in their fields. In keeping with the Calls to Action contained in “The Final Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada,” we are committed to providing our students with a deep understanding of Indigenous laws and access to justice for Canada’s Indigenous Peoples.

We are dedicated to ensuring broad access to our program and to supporting student success. The Faculty of Law offers more than $1.4 million dollars in student financial aid in the form of scholarships, awards and bursaries, many of which support students from racialized and equity-deserving groups. We provide year-round career and wellness support to students through an active career services office, our Student Wellness Officer, and our Indigneous Support Officer. A wide range of active student groups also enrich the law school experience.

The Faculty of Law is uniquely housed in the Law Centre building on the north campus of the University of Alberta, one of Canada’s top research universities. Our campus, located on Treaty 6 territory, is steps away from the natural beauty of Edmonton’s renowned river valley and the best of the city’s lively entertainment districts.

We hope that you will join us!

Barbara Billingsley

Dean of Law Wilbur Fee Bowker Professor of Law