Graduate students in the Physiology department are all supported financially. Acceptance into the department does not automatically entitle a student to funding, but the student, along with the supervisor, are responsible for securing financial support for the duration of graduate studies.

Students in the Physiology department have received funding from the following external agencies in the past:

Additionally, there are scholarships available from the University of Alberta and other financial assistance.


The Department of Physiology also offers Department-specific awards for graduate students. The Department of Physiology will be awarding prizes each calendar year as follows:

  1. Graduate Student Mel Schachter Award - presented annually to a student of superior academic standing entering the Physiology Graduate Program having first completed a BSc Honours degree in Physiology in this Department.
  2. Graduate Student Peter Pang Award - presented annually for outstanding thesis of the year. Nominations will be made on the recommendation of the external examiner at the time of the thesis defense. (In the absence of nominations, an award will not be made for that year.)
  3. Richard Stein Award - Presented annually for the Best Paper of the Year by a MSc or PhD student 
    • Paper published in the previous year (Jan-Dec)
    • The nominated MSc/PhD student must be the 1st author.
    • The primary supervisor should be the senior author or a co-author.
    • Supervisor will need to include a letter describing the contribution of the nominated student.
  4. James Collip Award - Presented annually for the best Physiology Honours research project presentation. 
  5. Richard B Stein Neuroscience Graduate Student Research Award – Presented annually to a graduate student in Physiology for outstanding research performance and accomplishments in neuroscience.