Awards and accolades: Summer 2022

Join us in celebrating some of the recent achievements of our students and faculty members.

31 August 2022


Jéssica Chaves Cardoso, a student in the Department of Renewable Resources, was recently awarded the Herbert and Jeannette Hall Graduate Scholarship in Forestry. Congratulations!

Congratulations to Chenxi Liu who was named co-winner of the 2022 Canadian Agricultural Economics Society (CAES-SCAE) Outstanding Master's Thesis Award. Liu's thesis was supervised by professors Xiaoli Fan and Scott Jeffrey in the Department of Resource Economics & Environmental Sociology

Congratulations to our 2022 Alberta Diabetes Institute (ADI) and ADI International Helmholtz Research School for Diabetes Graduate Studentship student awardees! ALES students Nandini Basuray (who works in professor Catherine Field's lab) and Zhiqian (Rita) Jiang (who works in professor Diana Mager's lab) recently received these awards. 

A slide that includes small photos and names of each of the ADI award winners.


Congratulations to professor Lynn McMullen in the Department of Agricultural, Food & Nutritional Science who recently received the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) Fellow Award. The IAFP Fellow Award is awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time. 

This summer, poultry production specialist Valerie Carney — also in the Department of Agricultural, Food & Nutritional Science — was named a Poultry Science Association (PSA) Fellow. The status of Fellow is one of the highest distinctions a PSA member can achieve, and is awarded for professional distinction and contributions to the field of poultry science and service to the Poultry Science Association. Learn more about Valerie in the video below!

If you would like to submit information about an award for yourself or on behalf of a friend, colleague or peer, please complete and submit the Share Your News form.