Finding a Supervisor

 3859-0043-edit.jpg

Supervisors are faculty members who mentor graduate nursing students and undergraduate honours students in their research. Please carefully review each faculty members' profile below before identifying a potential supervisor. Before contacting a supervisor, ensure they are listed as currently available to supervise and their research areas of interest match your desired field of research. 

Questions? Contact us:

Email: nursing.graduate@ualberta.ca
Telephone: (780) 492-9546
Toll Free: 1-888-492-8089
Fax: (780) 492-2551


 

Name

Supervisor Eligibility

Availability

Research Area(s)

Research Method(s)

Contact

Caine, Vera N/A Not Available N/A 780-248-1974
vera.caine@ualberta.ca
Ceci, Christine MN, PhD Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Health Equity  Qualitative Methods, Philosophical analysis

780-292-8911
christine.ceci@ualberta.ca

Cummings, Greta N/A Not Available Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Ageing/Gerontological Health Quantitative Methods  780-492-6236
nursingdean@ualberta.ca
Dahlke, Sherry Hons, MN Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health
Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews
780-492-8232
sherry.dahlke@ualberta.ca
Estabrooks, Carole

Hons, MN, PhD, Postdoc Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Healthcare Workforce, Knowledge Translation, Health Services Research, Improvement Science, Implementation Science, Long-Term Care (LTC) Mixed Methods, Quantitative Methods (780) 492-3451
carole.estabrooks@ualberta.ca
Haykowsky, Mark N/A Not Available
Hilario, Carla MN Fall 2021
Global Health/Migrant Health, Health Equity, Mental Health/Addictions, Child Health, Intersectionality, Knowledge Translation
Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews
carla.hilario@ualberta.ca
Hoben, Matthias

N/A Not Available Ageing/Gerontological Health, Quality of life, Continuing Care, Knowledge Translation, Health Services Research, Improvement Science, Implementation Science

Quantitative Methods, Development and testing of improvement interventions, Mixed Methods, Literature reviews

780-492-7715
matthias.hoben@ualberta.ca
Hunter, Kathleen

Hons, MN Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Continence, Pelvic Floor Health Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-492-8941
kathleen.hunter@ualberta.ca
Kleib, Manal MN Fall 2021 Infomatics/E-Health Literature Reviews, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-248-1422
manal.kleib@ualberta.ca
Low, Gail N/A Not Available Ageing/Gerontological Health, Mental Health/Addictions, Quantitative Methods, Psychometrics gail.low@ualberta.ca
MacDonald, Shannon Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Child Health, Immunization, Infectious Disease, Health Equity Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews 780-248-1563
smacdon@ualberta.ca
Meherali, Salima

N/A Not Available Global Health/Migrant Health, Child Health, Knowledge Translation, Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-248-1401
meherali@ualberta.ca
Norris, Colleen

MN, PhD Fall 2021 Cardiovascular Disease, Sex and Gender Science, Women's Heart Health
Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews
780-492-0644
colleen.norris@ualberta.ca
Olson, Joanne

Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Ageing/Gerontological Health, Mental Health & Addictions, Spirituality in Nursing & Health Care Qualitative Methods, Literature Reviews 780-492-6252
joanne.olson@ualberta.ca
O'Rourke, Hannah

Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health (specifically people living with Dementia) Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews, Methods that are used in the development and evaluation of complex interventions (e.g., pilot, feasibility, clinical trials) 780-492-7961
hannah.orourke@ualberta.ca
Palfreyman, Simon

N/A Not Available Ageing/Gerontological Health, Mixed Methods, Wounds, Quality of Life 780-492-1073
simon.palfreyman@ualberta.ca
Papathanassoglou, Elisavet Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Critical Illness, Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Healthcare Workforce, Knowledge Translation, Stress, Integrative therapies, rehabilitation, Neuroscience
Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews, RCT

780-492-5674
papathan@ualberta.ca

Park, Tanya

Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Mental Health/Addictions, Chronic Disease Mixed Methods 780-492-9109
tanya.park@ualberta.ca
Paul, Pauline

MN, PhD Fall 2021 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, History of Nursing, Orthopedic Nursing (joint replacements) Qualitative Methods 780-492-7479
pauline.paul@ualberta.ca
Pituskin, Edith

N/A Not Available Ageing/Gerontological Health, Chronic Disease, Oncology, Cardiovascular Disease, Quantitative Methods 780-492-6795
pituskin@ualberta.ca
Richter, Solina Hons, PhD Not Available

Global Health/Migrant Health, Health Equity, Intersectionality, Maternal Health, Marginalization, Vulnerability

Qualitative Methods, Literature Reviews

780-492-7953
solina.richter@ualberta.ca
Salami, Bukola Oladunni N/A Not Available Global Health/Migrant Health, Intersectionality 780-248-1801
Bukola.Salami@ualberta.ca
Salma, Jordana

Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Health Equity, Intersectionality Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews 780-492-7555
sjordana@ualberta.ca
Santos Salas, Anna

Hons, MN Fall 2021 Health Equity, Oncology, Palliative Care Qualitative Methods 780-492-3618
anna.santos.salas@ualberta.ca
Schick-Makaroff, Kara Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Chronic Disease, Quality of Life, Chronic Kidney Disease, Patient-Reported Outcomes

Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods,  Literature Reviews

780-492-9043
kara.schickmakaroff@ualberta.ca
Scott, Shannon PhD Fall 2021 Child Health, Knowledge Translation Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews 780-492-1037
shannon.scott@ualberta.ca
Sellman, Derek

N/A Not Available Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Healthcare Ethics 780-492-6481
derek.sellman@ualberta.ca
Slaughter, Susan N/A Not Available Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Global Health/Migrant Health, Health Equity, Healthcare Workforce, Interprofessionalism, Healthcare Team Development Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Arts-based research, Forum Theatre, Theatre of the Oppressed, Theatre for Living 780-492-7321
susan.slaughter@ualberta.ca
Sommerfeldt, Susan N/A Not Available Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Global Health/Migrant Health, Health Equity,  Healthcare Workforce, Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice, Healthcare Team Development, Arts-Based Research Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-492-9509
susan.sommerfeldt@ualberta.ca
Spiers, Jude PhD Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Healthcare Workforce, Chronic Disease, Communication and Interaction, Nursing Theory, Hidden Illness Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-492-9821
jude.spiers@ualberta.ca
Wilson, Donna Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Ageing/Gerontological Health, Bereavement, Grief, Death/Dying, Palliative and End of Life Care Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews, Case Studies, Policy Analysis 780-492-5574
donna.wilson@ualberta.ca