Finding a Supervisor

 3859-0043-edit.jpg

Supervisors are faculty members who mentor graduate nursing students and undergraduate honours students in their research. Please carefully review each faculty members' profile below before identifying a potential supervisor. Before contacting a supervisor, ensure they are listed as currently available to supervise and their research areas of interest match your desired field of research. 

Questions? Contact us:

Email: nursing.graduate@ualberta.ca
Telephone: (780) 492-4567
Toll Free: 1-888-492-8089
Fax: (780) 492-2551


 

Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods​

Name

Supervisor Eligibility

Availability

Research Area(s)

Research Method(s)

Contact

Ceci, Christine MN, PhD Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Health Equity  Qualitative Methods, Philosophical analysis

780-292-8911
christine.ceci@ualberta.ca

Cummings, Greta N/A Not Available Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Ageing/Gerontological Health Quantitative Methods  780-492-0427
deanchs@ualberta.ca
Dahlke, Sherry Hons, MN Winter/Spring 2022 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Ageing/Gerontological Health
Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods
780-492-8232
sherry.dahlke@ualberta.ca
Estabrooks, Carole

Hons, PhD, Postdoc Winter/Spring 2022 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Healthcare Workforce, Knowledge Translation, Health Services Research, Improvement Science, Implementation Science, Long-Term Care (LTC) Mixed Methods, Secondary Analyses, Process Evaluation, Bibliometric Methods, Network Analyses (780) 492-3451
carole.estabrooks@ualberta.ca
Haykowsky, Mark Hons, MN, PhD, PDF Yes Ageing/Gerontological Health, Oncology, Cardiovascular Disease Quantitative Methods mhaykows@ualberta.ca
Hunter, Kathleen

Hons, MN Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Continence, Pelvic Floor Health Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-492-8941
kathleen.hunter@ualberta.ca
Kleib, Manal MN Fall 2021 Infomatics/E-Health Literature Reviews, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-248-1422
manal.kleib@ualberta.ca
Lemermeyer, Gillian Hons, MN, PhD Winter/Spring 2022 Healthcare Ethics, Embodied Ethics, NICU, Nursing, Artificial Intelligence Qualitative Methods, Phenomenology gillianl@ualberta.ca
Low, Gail N/A Not Available Ageing/Gerontological Health, Mental Health/Addictions, Quantitative Methods, Psychometrics gail.low@ualberta.ca
MacDonald, Shannon PDF Winter/Spring 2022 Child Health, Immunization, Infectious Disease, Health Equity Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews 780-248-1563
smacdon@ualberta.ca
Meherali, Salima

Hons, MN, PhD Winter/Spring 2022 Global Health/Migrant Health, Child Health, Knowledge Translation, Health Equity, Mental Health/Addictions Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews 780-248-1401
meherali@ualberta.ca
Montgomery, Carmel Hons, MN, PhD Winter/Spring 2022 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Critical Illness, Cardiovascular Disease, Infomatics/E-Health, Health Economics Quantitative Methods (780) 492-4547  carmelm@ualberta.ca
Norris, Colleen

MN, PhD Fall 2021 Cardiovascular Disease, Sex and Gender Science, Women's Heart Health
Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews
780-492-0644
colleen.norris@ualberta.ca
Olson, Joanne

Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Ageing/Gerontological Health, Mental Health & Addictions, Spirituality in Nursing & Health Care Qualitative Methods, Literature Reviews 780-492-6252
joanne.olson@ualberta.ca
O'Rourke, Hannah

Hons, MN, PhD Winter/Spring 2022 Ageing/Gerontological Health (specifically people living with Dementia), Care of older adults living with dementia, social connection, intervention design and evaluation Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews, Methods that are used in the development and evaluation of complex interventions (e.g., pilot, feasibility, clinical trials) 780-492-7961
hannah.orourke@ualberta.ca
Papathanassoglou, Elisavet Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Critical Illness, Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Healthcare Workforce, Knowledge Translation, Stress, Integrative therapies, rehabilitation, Neuroscience
Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews, RCT

780-492-5674
papathan@ualberta.ca

Park, Tanya

Hons, MN, PhD Winter/Spring 2022 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, Mental Health/Addictions, Chronic Disease Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods 780-492-9109
tanya.park@ualberta.ca
Paul, Pauline

MN, PhD Winter/Spring 2022 Nursing Education/Pedagogy, History of Nursing, Orthopedic Nursing (joint replacements) Qualitative Methods, Literature Reviews 780-492-7479
pauline.paul@ualberta.ca
Pituskin, Edith

N/A Not Available Ageing/Gerontological Health, Chronic Disease, Oncology, Cardiovascular Disease, Quantitative Methods 780-492-6795
pituskin@ualberta.ca
Salami, Bukola Oladunni Winter/Spring 2022 Hons, MN, PhD, PDF Global Health/Migrant Health, Intersectionality, Immigrant Health, Black People's Health Qualitative Methods, Literature Reviews 780-248-1801
Bukola.Salami@ualberta.ca
Salma, Jordana

Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Health Equity, Intersectionality Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews 780-492-7555
sjordana@ualberta.ca
Santos Salas, Anna

Hons, MN Fall 2021 Health Equity, Oncology, Palliative Care Qualitative Methods 780-492-3618
anna.santos.salas@ualberta.ca
Schick-Makaroff, Kara Hons, PhD, PDF Winter/Spring 2022 Mental Health/Addictions, Chronic Disease, Quality of Life, Chronic Kidney Disease, Patient-Reported Outcomes

Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods,  Literature Reviews

780-492-9043
kara.schickmakaroff@ualberta.ca
Scott, Shannon PhD, PDF Winter/Spring 2022 Child Health, Knowledge Translation, Patient Engagement Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Knowledge Synthesis 780-492-1037
shannon.scott@ualberta.ca
Spiers, Jude PhD, PDF Winter/Spring 2022 Ageing/Gerontological Health, Healthcare Workforce, Chronic Disease, Communication and Interaction, Nursing Theory, Hidden Illness Qualitative Methods 780-492-9821
jude.spiers@ualberta.ca
Wilson, Donna Hons, MN, PhD Fall 2021 Nursing/Healthcare Leadership, Ageing/Gerontological Health, Bereavement, Grief, Death/Dying, Palliative and End of Life Care Qualitative Methods, Quantitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Literature Reviews, Case Studies, Policy Analysis 780-492-5574
donna.wilson@ualberta.ca