Sarah Lopaschuk Memorial Scholarship

Sarah Lopaschuk Memorial Scholarship

(Left) Gary Lopaschuk presents the award on behalf of the family to Rafiaa Valji. Missing recipients are Bailey Komishke and Peter Anto Johnson.

The Sarah Lopaschuk Award is awarded annually to a third or fourth year medical student, a pediatric resident or a pediatric graduate student for travel to a conference, symposia, third world medical experience or educational travel activity that relates to pediatrics.

This award will be selected by a committee from the Department of Pediatrics.

Past Years' Recipients

2018 - 2019: Rafiaa Valji (subspeciality resident), Peter Anto Johnson (medical student) and Bailey Komishke (resident)
2017 - 2018: Cynthia Gunaratnam (resident), Kylie Bernstein (resident) and Maram Kebbe (graduate student)
2016 - 2017: Tara McGrath (resident), Devin Chetan (resident) and Lester Liao (resident)
2015 - 2016: Nassiba Alami Laroussi, Chris Novak (medical student), Alana Chomyn (medical student) and Lexa Fraser (medical student)
2014 - 2015: Chantelle Champagne, Daniela Migliarese Isaac, Mark Assmus (medical student) and Ori Scott (medical student)
2013 - 2014: Marya Cordell, Susan Bobbitt and Jillian Popel
2012 - 2013: Angie Ip, Conrad Tsang and Marissa Tsoi 


Family, relatives, friends, and faculty members




Variable (depending on committee decision).

Application/Nomination Procedure:

Submit your application by April 19, 2019 to the Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Submit applications by email to


Apply now